Buffalo Chicken and Roasted Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was my recipe and I made some shortcuts that weren't put in the original recipe. Instead of using the tobasco sauce, garlic powder, and paprika mix, I used a jar of HOOTERS hot wing sauce. I added some olive oil to it to keep it from burning and to coat the potatoes. Then baked them as the recipe states. Also, not having time to thaw and cube chicken, I used a bag of Fajita chicken pieces, precooked and thawed. It was perfect and took half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Devoured by both myself and my husband! I knew he would love it, but I was surprised at how much I did, too. I followed the author's shortcut except that I used Frank's Buffalo Wing Sauce. I used red potatoes and left the skin on. Instead of putting raw chicken in with the roasted potatoes, I sprinkled it with the paprika, garlic powder, and seasoning salt, then sauteed the chicken in olive oil until cooked. I added about a half cup of wing sauce and 3 tbsp unsalted butter to the cooked chicken (this was for a half-recipe) and simmered for about 10 minutes before adding to the roasted potatoes. Chives are a no-no for my hubby, unfortunately, but this was DELICIOUS anyway! I should have made the full amount! I'll be making it again in 2 days when friends come over to watch a football game, and will keep it warm in the slow cooker. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, MammaK! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great recipie!!! Some what spicy when using Frank's Red Hot hot sauce. Added a little Rootie's blue cheese on top and it was awesome!!! Husband and son both loved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I'm giving this five stars because the whole concept and final product was amazing and one of our new favorites! But I did do my own version of this recipe (as I usually do!) I roasted the potatoes at the time & temp suggested but with just a drizzle of olive oil and some garlic salt and pepper. Then I had some chicken that I had precooked and shredded, so I tossed that on top then poured the wing sauce over top of everything and mixed together, topped with cheese and put back in the oven until everything was heated thru. For the wing sauce I used some of Franks wing sauce but to tone it down a little I added butter and garlic. Thought I'd share my own twist on this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I just tried this recipe. I made a few modifications. First, made the sauce as directed for the potatoes, then roasted the potatoes at 450 for 40 minutes. Made additional sauce for the chicken but added a few tbs of butter then added the chicken to soak up the flavors. Started with a whole roasted chicken and cut it into bite size pieces after removing the skin. This saved a step and I didn't like the idea of putting raw chicken on the potatoes. After I took the completed dish out of the oven, added a fried egg to the top. It added just the thing needed to take away any dryness. Will definitely make this again.....but for brunch I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This. Was. Fantastic. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Only change was I sauteed the chicken in the leftover sauce just to brown a bit before putting it over the potatoes...then cooked the rest of the way in the oven. Yes, it's a little time consuming, but SO worth it. My husband absolutely LOVED it. He also said it went perfect with a cold beer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe seems VERY labor intensive to me, but I simplified it by cooking the chicken first, then shredding it when it cooled. We topped with sour cream and everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is good with heat-control modifications. I roasted the potatoes in garlic powder, olive oil, and pepper. I, like other reviewers, didn't like the idea of putting raw chicken on cooked potatoes, so I cooked the chicken on its own in butter with about 10 drops of hot sauce, garlic powder, and pepper. When the chicken was done, I took the roasted potatoes out of the oven and mixed in about 1/4 cup of cheese. I then topped it with the rest of the cheese, the cooked chicken, the bacon, and the green onions and baked it for another 10 minutes. I served Sweet Baby Ray's Buffalo Chicken Dipping Sauce on the side. Everyone loved it, and my heat sensitive seven year old gobbled up the chicken. I thought the hot sauce gave the chicken a bit of a delicious bit, but he didn't notice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe is incredibly filling and comforting. I didn't have much hot sauce in my fridge so I used a blend of Tapatio, water and tomatoes from the garden and followed the recipe the rest of the way per suggestion. I had some time on my hands, which is a good thing because this recipe takes a minute to cook, but it's worth the wait. I got the whole, "You're such a good wife," love-talk from my husband afterwards. I'd cook this again. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeenesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made the modified recipe with Frank's Hot Sauce, and it was extremely hot! Next time, I'll try making the sauce as directed. Didn't have green onions, so I used minced onion & mixed with the chicken & potatoes. Put a layer of cheese, bacon, chives & topped with cheese (very good!). Next time, I'll try making the sauce as directed. Good, but HOT HOT HOT!!! Thanks mamak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States