Buffalo Chicken Wings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
The frying part is good and the sauce is good, however, the simmering part (for us, anyway) kind of ruined the dish. We like our wings crispy and this made them soggy. We'll go back to just frying, placing them in a covered container with the cooked sauce and giving it the good old shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
These wings are great! Instead of frying, we baked them (400 degrees for 50-60 min). Also, we used "Frank's RedHot" sauce, and added a dash of Worcestershire, and about a 1/2 tbsp of honey. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This is certainly the closest to what real Buffalo wings are supposed to be like on the side. The main comment I would add is that the correct hot sauce for the authentic Buffalo flavor to use is "Durkees" or "Frank's Red Hot." Otherwise, I've been told by chefs in Buffalo that margarine, not butter, is used to get the correct consistency for the sauce. Other ingredients you can add are (any or all): Tabasco to spice up the flavor, crushed garlic, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, honey, a smidgen of prepared mustard. I am in the opinin that ketchup or tomato-based sauces should not be found anywhere near Buffalo wings. But, as is, this recipe is perfectly authentic, if that's what you're after. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I have long sought the trick behind great wings. This recipe reveals it. Keep it simple. The second step is the secret. Instead of dumping lots of hot sauce on the wings, put the wings in the sauce. I usually use more hot pepper sauce, but my family and friends love spicy food. Interestingly, if you accidentally make the sauce too hot, adding a little more vinegar reduces the heat. I don't know why, but it does. I sometimes fry the chicken in advance, and then reheat them very slowly with the sauce in a covered pan. It's easier when I have folks over to watch the game. Reheat slowly, as, if you try to rush this, they will be dry. My twist on this, in what is probably a vain attempt to make these a little healther, is to use thighs instead of wings. I get some good sized thighs, trim off the fat, and cut them into three pieces. One cut one each side of the bone, leaving a nice amount of meat on the bone. Be careful, though, as these fry more quickly than wings. But everyone loves them; some prefer the boneless strips, and others go for the piece with the bone. Nonetheless, whether you use my thigh trick, or use the wings, this recipe is the real thing. Thank you, Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I make a similar recipe but like a thicker sauce like some of the others who rated this recipe. Add about 1/2 tbs of flour to the melted butter to create a roux. Then add your hot sauce and vinegar. Also, lightly flour dust the wings prior to frying. Use Marie's Blue Cheese Dressing with added crumbled blue cheese and serve with celery sticks and you have an awesome appetizer/meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Flavor is perfect. My suggestion is that the simmer time should be posted. Mild 15 minutes, Medium 30 min., Hot 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I am from Buffalo and do not need to make my own wings (they are everywhere), but on occasion its fun to do. This recipe is the closest I've seento the "real thing". Everyone has their favorite recipe but you cant really go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These wings are sooo good! I bake mine in the oven for 45 minutes at 425 on the broiler pan so the grease can fall off, then toss them in the crockpot for spicy coating. Maybe that's a *little* healthier ;) My husband doesn't like very spicy food and these were perfect for him (I added tabasco to mine before serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Awesome! You don't have to go out for wings when you have this recipe. I used the "coating" mixture from the "Restaurant Style Chicken Wings" off this web site and deep fried them, then used the sauce from this site. They are delectable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
No frills but very tasty. I baked my wings for 40 minutes at 400 - then sauted in jalapeno juice, butter and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States