Buffalo Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe is simple and very good. We cooked it and dipped drumsticks in the sauce. Then we baked the drumsticks and used the rest of the sauce for dipping. Next time we plan to marinade it to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This the real thing! Very simple, very very good, and absolutely authentic taste *IF* you use Frank's Red Hot Sauce. Not Tabasco. Not nothin' else ... and you'll have the taste just like the originals from The Anchor Bar in Buffalo NY. And, just like Chef John says, butter is what you use ... not margarine. You should never buy store-bought wing sauce (waste of money, bad taste, and this stuff is soooo easy to make!). Suggestions: - Omit the cayenne if you want your wings mild-to-medium-hot, 1/4 tsp as listed if you want it medium-hot, and, well, you get the idea. - Skip the extra salt (absolutely not necessary as all bottled hot sauce is incredibly salty anyway) - Keep the sauce warm on the stove, and toss your hot-out-of-the-oven wings in a good amount of warmed hot-sauce, serve immediately - Do not put these back in the oven to "dry" the sauce ... they're supposed to be saucy. - Keep some extra warmed hot sauce on the table for dipping (for those of us that need more hot-sauce punishment!) - Lastly, serve with a real home-made blue cheese dressing, as there are several good ones on this site (choose one with less mayo-to-sour cream ratio) ... and don't forget the celery & carrot sticks to garnish for a crunch & cooling effect! Thanks for a great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really disliked this sauce--I couldn't eat it at all! I tried it with Frank's Hot Sauce and with Crystal Hot Sauce. The butter aroma and flavor was overwhelming in both batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is it!! I am from Buffalo and have lived away for many years. Every year when I visit I just can't get enough "wings", but now I can make them myself! Authentic recipe (sorry to those who don't like it, but this IS what wings taste like in Buffalo)... I deep fried the wings in peanut oil (355 degrees) in batches, then tossed all of the wings in the sauce - give em a good shake - with the lid on of course. Serve with blue cheese dressing, carrot and celery sticks. Tastes like home :) Thanks to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
this was a really great sauce. you really do have to use Frank's hot sauce to get maximum flavor. i would like to fry wings next time though (i grilled them this time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great buffalo wing sauce, delicious and authentic. Had to use margarine instead of butter, and it still came out delicious. Used with the Baked Buffalo Wing recipe--dip the wings in the sauce and bake at 400. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
'dis be da one! zakki not sure if you are allergic to butter/margarine or what, but the butter is what mellows out the flavors of the ingredients! if you've ever been to buffalo this recipe is spot on. perfect balance of flavor and wouldn't change a thing! franks red hot is the only way to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is the real deal. If you don't like this recipe, don't bother ordering Buffalo wings in Buffalo because they're exactly the same. The only thing I did differently was to cook the wings in my TFal Actifry without adding any oil. The chicken fries in its own oils and they're just a little bit healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This sauce was the BUSINESS!!!! Instead of wings (which I will use this recipe later for) I used it on Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast. Needless to say this turned out to be a great dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Classic. My only complaint was maybe a bit too much worcestershire. I may leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buffalo Wing Sauce

See the secret to real Buffalo wing sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States