Buffalo Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was excellent. I made a few tweaks that I think contributed to the success. In addition to the onion and celery, I sauteed two hatch chiles (could use anaheim peppers) to give a little heat / flavor. I used 2% milk instead of half-and-half -- there is enough fat content already, and the flour creates all the thickness necessary. I then used 3 cups of chicken stock instead of the 1/3 diluted ratio suggested, which reduces the amount of salt needed but adds a lot of flavor. I used two large roast chicken breasts for the chicken. For the hot sauce, Frank's is a must for authenticity, though it is not particularly hot, so 1/2 cup was about right for me. I would also advise that you wait until the soup is essentially 100% done before adding hte cheese, and then add it in small batches so that it melts in evenly. All in all an excellent soup and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Even better the next day! This soup only gets better as the flavors infuse with each other. When making it, I find blending the flour with the half&half before adding to the pot keeps it from clumping. We also like to use Pepper-Jack cheese in place of the cheddar for added spice and occasionally dropping a little crumbled blue cheese on top of a bowlful for the full "wing" experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yummy. Needed a little garlic powder, but that's it. Used 2 cans low sodium chicken broth in lieu of boullion/water and then a bit of boullion granules for extra chicken flavor. Used leftover Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from this site. Added a bit more buffalo sauce too. Yum Yum Yum. if you're a buffalo lover -- this is a great way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
When my husband said, "this actually really does taste like a buffalo chicken wings" I knew we had a 5 star recipe. I wanted to add carrots (but mine were gone bad) because I think that will only add to the complete buffalo chicken wing experience, so I definitely would add a carrot or 2 next time. Also, top the soup with a little crumbled blue cheese for even more authenticity. Other than that, the recipe is perfect in it's ratios. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe. My husband actually found this and has now made it several times for us. Everyone loves it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was a big hit! I made it on a whim after a search for what to do with some leftover chicken I had. It tastes like slightly spicy cream of chicken soup. The only changes I made were to boil my (bone in, skinless) chicken breasts and then use the strained boiling water instead of using plain water and a bouillon cube. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. I forgot to buy celery, but didn't miss it. I used leftover chicken from the Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken from this sight, which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! It was easy and outstanding. I got two great meals from a $4 chicken. If you like buffalo wings, you'll really like this soup. Try it with a salad and the dressing you usually like on your wings--ranch or blue cheese. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Really good--both my husband and I liked this soup, which says a lot! :) I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was adding more buffalo sauce--about 3/4 cup total, since both my husband and I enjoy spicy foods. I didn't season the soup with salt and pepper, but it was still delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha.elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I thought this soup was great ... I used a local favorite wing sauce, and I think that is the trick - using good sauce! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by janaflower
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This soup was really good. The only changes I made due to what I had on hand was: used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, and used Velveeta instead of cheddar, but I think it would be better with Cheddar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States