Buffalo Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was a big hit! I made it on a whim after a search for what to do with some leftover chicken I had. It tastes like slightly spicy cream of chicken soup. The only changes I made were to boil my (bone in, skinless) chicken breasts and then use the strained boiling water instead of using plain water and a bouillon cube. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I'm surprised this doesn't have more reviews. I left out the celery, because I hate the stuff. And oregano is suitable spice to add in with your salt and pepper. This is a very good base, loved the kick from the buffalo sauce. I will use it again, and maybe add some brocolli or potatoes. It really is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuckRocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. I forgot to buy celery, but didn't miss it. I used leftover chicken from the Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken from this sight, which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! It was easy and outstanding. I got two great meals from a $4 chicken. If you like buffalo wings, you'll really like this soup. Try it with a salad and the dressing you usually like on your wings--ranch or blue cheese. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used whole milk instead of half and half, and canned chicken. It came out great. My husband and I really liked it a lot. I only give 5 stars to extraordinary dishes, but I would give this a 4.5 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very good....husband and kids loved it...quick and simple to make...Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is just like the soup we get at a restaurant we go to weekly. It is so good. I made it today and there is only enough left for lunch tomorrow. I added a lot more chicken than called for but I wanted to make it more of a meal... next time I will cut back as my husband would prefer more broth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was excellent. I made a few tweaks that I think contributed to the success. In addition to the onion and celery, I sauteed two hatch chiles (could use anaheim peppers) to give a little heat / flavor. I used 2% milk instead of half-and-half -- there is enough fat content already, and the flour creates all the thickness necessary. I then used 3 cups of chicken stock instead of the 1/3 diluted ratio suggested, which reduces the amount of salt needed but adds a lot of flavor. I used two large roast chicken breasts for the chicken. For the hot sauce, Frank's is a must for authenticity, though it is not particularly hot, so 1/2 cup was about right for me. I would also advise that you wait until the soup is essentially 100% done before adding hte cheese, and then add it in small batches so that it melts in evenly. All in all an excellent soup and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Even better the next day! This soup only gets better as the flavors infuse with each other. When making it, I find blending the flour with the half&half before adding to the pot keeps it from clumping. We also like to use Pepper-Jack cheese in place of the cheddar for added spice and occasionally dropping a little crumbled blue cheese on top of a bowlful for the full "wing" experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe. My husband actually found this and has now made it several times for us. Everyone loves it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yummy. Needed a little garlic powder, but that's it. Used 2 cans low sodium chicken broth in lieu of boullion/water and then a bit of boullion granules for extra chicken flavor. Used leftover Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from this site. Added a bit more buffalo sauce too. Yum Yum Yum. if you're a buffalo lover -- this is a great way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States