Buffalo Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I enjoyed this soup so much I made it twice in one week. I made some changes based on other reviews--instead of water/bouillon I used 3 cups of chicken stock, increased the buffalo sauce to 1/3 cup, added 1 cup of cream of tomato soup (I bought prepared soup in a carton), a dash of garlic powder, and about 1/2 a can of corn. I also shredded the chicken instead of cubing, just a personal preference. There was no need for salt or pepper. It was delicious!! My hubby liked it despite the celery (one of his least favorite things). We garnished it with blue cheese and chopped cherry tomatoes, and served with warm ciabatta bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So delicious! I thought it would be spicy which is alright with me but not necessarily my family--it wasn't...just a whole bunch of yummy love in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I could have eaten 4 bowls of this soup!! So good!! We grilled the chicken so it was extra flavorful - also added corn which gave it a nice texture. Highly recommend - even my 6 year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamandAubreysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was surprised that the cheese melted smoothly. I did use less than called for. I boiled frozen chicken breasts and used that broth instead of water in the soup. Next time I will add the bouillon last after a taste test. I also think I might like it better if I blended everything before adding the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I loved this. We made it gluten free by skipping the roux and adding some cornstarch to the dissolved milk, which I used instead of cream. I cooked the onions, celery and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil. I used chicken broth because I had it on hand. I used a combo of NY Style Extra sharp cheddar and a four cheese mexican blend. Both shredded. Like others have said, if you like chicken wings you'll love this. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This soup was delicious! It was also quick and easy to make. I followed all the instructions except that I had no bouillon so I used chicken broth instead. I used 2 cups of broth and one cup of water. I also used 1/2 cup of creamed tomato soup and 1/3 cup of buffalo wing sauce. I topped it off with crumbled bleu cheese. A hearty meal in a toasty bread bowl for a chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
One of the tastiest soups ever! I used nonfat milk instead of half and half and rendered bacon fat instead of butter. I tossed the cheese with cornstarch before adding it to prevent clumping. I also added a potato, garlic, shallots, and some Worchestershire. I served with celery sticks (cute but unnecessary) and blue cheese crumbles (a must).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Everyone really liked this recipe, but when I make it next time I won't put in extra hot sauce as other reviewers noted. It was way too spicy for me - it actually was hard to finish a complete bowl of it. BUT this is my personal preference as I really don't like things too spicy. I think if you follow the recipe as written it should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband, who is very critical of any cooking (because its not like his "moms") Told me after I made this for him that it was "phenomenal"! Wow, it only took 10 yrs of cooking to get that outta him. This soup is quite tasty, I will say it does not look appealing as it cooks! I did sub in 1% milk, who needs the fat from half/half, added a little more cheese, used chix broth instead of boulion water and sifted in more flour towards the end to thicken it more. Very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this just as the recipe suggested and it was awesome. I wasn't sure what buffalo wing sause it was talking about, but i used 1/2 packet of McCormmicks buffalo wing mix. I added a dollop of sour cream on top and it was even better. I added a little more cheese to mine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WandaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States