Buffalo Chicken Phyllo Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were really good and easy to prepare. I used canned chicken breast to make it even easier, and they were still excellent. I used two big cans of chicken breast, 1 standard-sized container light chive and onion cream cheese (didn't have garlic at my grocery), about 2/3 cup Frank's RedHot, with the 2 T vinegar and salt/pepper to taste. It filled 15 sheets of phyllo and 5 taco-sized corn tortillas (about 2 T filling in each). I was making these for a small party, and one of the people there is on a gluten-free diet, which is why I used corn tortillas for some. I just brushed the outside of the corn tortillas with olive oil, rolled them up, and baked them at the same time and temp as the phyllo-wrapped ones. They were excellent too - had the texture of a taquito or flauta. The recipe as-is is very good, but here is one piece of advice if you've never worked with phyllo: 1 T olive oil is not enough! Pour some olive oil in a bowl and very lightly coat the surface of the phyllo with a pastry brush after you've folded it lengthwise. I think I used about 1/4 cup total for what I described above. In the future, I will also add some blue cheese crumbles to the filling. Also, I made these ahead of time and froze before baking, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This turned out really well for me. I had a snafu with the phyllo crust and ended up making the second batch as a wrap with lettuce and shredded carrots and added celery and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe also works if you want to make as finger size appetizers. Cut the phyllo into small squares(use at least 2-3 sheets)and line the inside cups of a tart pan. The one I use has 24 cups and are a little larger than a small Recee cup. Great for parties and dangerous to eat alone. You will find you have gobbled up more than you realize when finger size....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a great way to eat Buffalo chicken with out the mess. I did make a few changes though,I doubled the recipe, added a container of crumbled blue cheese, added 1/2 C chopped celery, used Aloette brand herb cheese, sliced the chicken befor marinating and pre cooking in a skillet. used 2 T vinegar. I am going to make this again cuing crescent rools as a top and bottom crust pot pie style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizakitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Once you start, you just can't stop! We used 1/8 less cream cheese than called for, and we used regular chive and onion. We added extra hot sauce and half the vinegar and it was perfect! (We had the buffalo style Frank's sauce). Made two nights in a row! It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
These were a huge hit with my family, even the picky eaters. We're all big buffalo chicken fans so, as per my usual recipe, I added butter to the buffalo sauce. Also, instead of adding the cream cheese, I sprinkled pepper jack and colby cheeses inside the wraps, and that turned out to be a really good touch. I am definately going to make this next time I cook for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I thought they were a great idea, but wasn't happy with the end result. I did really enjoy the filling and will probably use it on a regular pizza crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
The phyllo sheets were so thin, you mostly tasted the filling. It was like eating a dip, okay for an appetizer, but not for an entree. The filling tasted good, I baked some in refrigerated crescent rolls to make a more substantial meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
My first time cooking with Phyllo! I have to say it was challenging for me but with practice I think I could really make some cool dishes with this dough. Overall this meal was AMAZING. I served my boyfriend and his room-mate and they both absolutely loved how much flavor it had and the Franks wing sauce was just wonderful. Definitely will make this unique recipe again. If you're tired of the same ol same ol recipes, this one will definitely satiate your craving for something new!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalette6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States