Buffalo Chicken Phyllo Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were really good and easy to prepare. I used canned chicken breast to make it even easier, and they were still excellent. I used two big cans of chicken breast, 1 standard-sized container light chive and onion cream cheese (didn't have garlic at my grocery), about 2/3 cup Frank's RedHot, with the 2 T vinegar and salt/pepper to taste. It filled 15 sheets of phyllo and 5 taco-sized corn tortillas (about 2 T filling in each). I was making these for a small party, and one of the people there is on a gluten-free diet, which is why I used corn tortillas for some. I just brushed the outside of the corn tortillas with olive oil, rolled them up, and baked them at the same time and temp as the phyllo-wrapped ones. They were excellent too - had the texture of a taquito or flauta. The recipe as-is is very good, but here is one piece of advice if you've never worked with phyllo: 1 T olive oil is not enough! Pour some olive oil in a bowl and very lightly coat the surface of the phyllo with a pastry brush after you've folded it lengthwise. I think I used about 1/4 cup total for what I described above. In the future, I will also add some blue cheese crumbles to the filling. Also, I made these ahead of time and froze before baking, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were wonderful - will definitely save this and make them again! This is my first attempt at working with fyllo/phyllo dough, so that part turned out just OK, but I will hopefully get better with experience. We like things moderately hot but not fiery hot, so I put only 2 T of hot sauce in the chicken mixture, and it turned out perfect for us. I also used the chive & onion sour cream because our grocery store didn't have the garlic version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Once you start, you just can't stop! We used 1/8 less cream cheese than called for, and we used regular chive and onion. We added extra hot sauce and half the vinegar and it was perfect! (We had the buffalo style Frank's sauce). Made two nights in a row! It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
If done correctly, these would be GREAT. I'm an idiot and thought phyllo dough and puff pastry were the same thing, so mine turned out oily and HUGE. I added blue cheese crumbles and bacon. Next time I make these (properly) I don't think I'll use the cream cheese and just use blue cheese crumbles. The two combined were just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were amazing! They were super easy to make and they were gone very quickly! I forgot to put in the vinegar, but I don't think the taste suffered. I let the chicken marinate a bit extra so I didn't add more than 1/4 cup of hot sauce when making the filling, which was a perfect level of spice for us. I also used 2 phyllo sheets for each so that there was no chance of the filling falling out. I am a little lazy so I just used cooking spray instead of brushing with oil; same result! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My husband and I thought these were horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These are super easy to make and are very inexpensive. They taste delicious. I made them once about two months ago and am making them again for dinner tonight. I go a little easy on the hot sauce and add and extra sheet of phyllo dough per wrap. Makes them perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
My first time cooking with Phyllo! I have to say it was challenging for me but with practice I think I could really make some cool dishes with this dough. Overall this meal was AMAZING. I served my boyfriend and his room-mate and they both absolutely loved how much flavor it had and the Franks wing sauce was just wonderful. Definitely will make this unique recipe again. If you're tired of the same ol same ol recipes, this one will definitely satiate your craving for something new!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalette6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
2 stars from me but 4 from my husband. I followed the recipe exactly and just thought they were gross. Sorry. At least the hubbs was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
The phyllo sheets were so thin, you mostly tasted the filling. It was like eating a dip, okay for an appetizer, but not for an entree. The filling tasted good, I baked some in refrigerated crescent rolls to make a more substantial meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States