Buffalo Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
made this for 4th of july and it was a definite success! i did make some changes, including using sauteed chicken breasts seasoned with loads of garlic, adding celery, using ranch instead of blue cheese, adding feta cheese, and increasing the amount of buffalo sauce to kick up the heat. i also used penne pasta because it's what i had. very very good salad that i especially liked because it's different, not the same old thing. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I used a rotiserie chicken and it was fantastic! I made this for my son's daycare workers to thank them for a great year and they all RAVED about it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this salad and actually put it on the menu at my restaurant one night. Made the following changes / modifcations: Used Wing Time Parmesan and Garlic wing sauce. Added a significant (1 - 2 ounces?) amount of Orange Krush hot sauce. Added 4 ounces of crumbled blue cheese. Used Marie's Super Blue Cheese dressing. One of the keys to this receipe is to allow it to fully chill after making. It will take you longer than one hour - four is probably a better bet. All in all this is a solid recipe, especially for those who like the "wing" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This salad is DELICIOUS. It warrants all caps, definitely, it's THAT good. I really hate when people make substitutions and rate a recipe that is only remotely like the original, but I admit I had to for this one, because I *loathe* green pepper. I substituted celery instead, but otherwise made according to instructions. I'm taking it to a cookout later today, but the Spousal Unit has already requested a second batch for tomorrow, just for us! Thanks for a GREAT dish. EDIT 5/22/14: I made this salad again a couple more times, but am only now getting around to updating my earlier review. The first few times I made it, I splurged for the the thick bleu cheese dressing found in the produce department (like Marie's). The salad was incredible. Once, though, I used regular bottled stuff I had in my pantry (Ken's) and was disappointed. The thin dressing soaks into the pasta and disappears after a few hours. It's definitely worth the extra money for the hearty - and calorific - dressings! Oh yeah, use Frank's Buffalo Sauce, not the Red Hot. The Red Hot is just heat. Only the Buffalo sauce will give it that authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I think this recipe would really depend on what kind of buffalo sauce is used. I used Frank's Red Hot and it was more heat then flavor. Also, next time I think i'll use shredded chicken instead of cubed. Use more mayo and a mix between blue cheese and ranch. I bet crumbled blue cheese would be good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really, really good! Made this for my husband who loves anything buffalo chicken related and he really enjoyed it. I didn't think it would be up my alley, but I loved it too! We don't care for blue cheese, so I used Ranch instead. We ate on a half batch for a couple days and it didn't dry out at all. Making it again this weekend! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I would like to give the creator of this salad a solid four. However, as written, this salad is a tiny bit dry after sitting in the fridge and cooling. I used homemade bleu cheese dressing, which was runnier than commercial brands, so I don't know how others would fare. I would suggest adding a half a cup or more of ranch dressing right before serving for additional creaminess. (BTW, I doubled the green peppers and celery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
To make this stretch a little farther, I threw in a half cup of halved cherry tomatoes and a few chopped ribs of celery. I used Frank's Buffalo Hot Sauce in this recipe. This is good, a little too much dressing but it makes a great quick pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was really good. I doubled it b/c I made it for 50 people. I used Buffalo Wild Wings mild sauce. The only thing I did that the recipe wasnt specific on was after I drained the pasta I added the veggies in with the hot pasta to "steam" them so they were alittle softer than raw veggies. I am taking the little that was leftover for my lunch today. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Delicious! We loved this, made a couple of changes to due presonal preference, I subbed ranch dressing for the blue cheese and lite sour cream for the mayo. This did dry out a bit after sitting in the fridge but was easily fixed by just adding a bit more ranch right before serving. Thanks for the recipe, it will be used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States