Buffalo Chicken Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
5 stars with my modifications: I marinated the chicken strips (we cut up 4 boneless, chicken breasts that I got on sale for 1.79/lb.) with a cup of hot sauce in a ziploc bag for a few hours before preparing. I doubled the flour mixture and barely had enough of the bread crumb mixture to cover the chicken. After baking, we tossed these in a mixture of 1 stick of melted butter and 1 cup of hot sauce, simmered together. These were spicy hot and outstanding! My 13 year old son remarked that he no longer needed to go to the local Ruby Tuesday's restaurant for their buffalo chicken tenders - that he would prefer to make ours! Thanks for a recipe that was fun for my son and I to make together and is not fried and more economical than eating out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Ok, the recipe "as is" isn't bad... but it certainly wouldn't cure my craving for buffalo wings. I think it only deserves three stars. However, with some of the additions suggested by some of the reviewers, it is definitely a five-star (plus) recipe!! I used Frank's instead of water in the egg mix. When everything was cooked, I tossed the chicken fingers in a sauce made of 1/4 c melted Smart Balance Light margarine and 1/2 c Frank's Red Hot Sauce. I also used panko bread crumbs (my first time cooking with them - I loved them!! they made the chicken fingers so crunchy! -- and they looked fried after they were all covered with sauce...tricks the brain :). These were AMAZING and I will definitely make anytime I get a craving! (By the way, with my additions, this is still only 3 g fat and 97 calories per serving.) UPDATE: I brought into work today and have already gotten several requests for the recipe -- even the non-dieters love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
These are really great chicken fingers. I make these every couple of weeks. I do, however, make a few adjustments. First, I use chicken tenderloins, just so I don't have to cut the chicken breasts. Second, I melt 2 parts butter and 4 parts Frank's hot sauce. I like my sauce hot, so use more butter if you want a less fiery sauce. I dip the tenderloins in the buffalo sauce when they have about 1 minute of cooking left. After they have been dipped, they go back in the oven for the last minute of cooking. I then serve them on a bun for a lower fat buffalo chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbphilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Tastes great for being low fat!!! Very tender. I substituted whole milk for the egg. Also, I REALLY kicked them up (SPICY HOT) by coating them in authentic buffalo sauce after they came out of the oven and serving with blue cheese dressing. The simple buffalo sauce recipe is 1/3 cup melted margarine + 1/2 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce (MUST be Franks) - Try this sauce if you like TRUE buffalo fingers (spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I thought this was really good! The chicken fingers came out nice and crispy. I like mine saucy and hot...so I took a 1/4 c Crystal Louisiana hot sauce, a dash of cayenne, a dash of garlic powder and 1 tsp of butter..then microwaved it together till hot and poured it over my chicken..then tossed them. Serve it right away..and it tastes just like the really fattening wings you get at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I loved this recipe-I took other reviewers' advice and used 1/2 the cayenne and served them with Honey BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Made these last evening for the SuperBowl. Everyone enjoyed them a lot. The changes I made: I didn't add water to the egg, but I DID add about two tablespoons of Frank's Red Hot Buffalo Sauce to the egg. Gave the fingers a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Great recipe. Based on reviews, I added Frank's hot sauce for the last 5 minutes of cooking. I used the leftovers the next day and made a buffalo chicken salad. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinsmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This was sooo yummy with two alterations. I used crackers instead of bread crumbs (bread crumbs can get too sweet) and I maraniated the chicken in Tabasco Sause all day until it was time to cook dinner. My husband really liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
I liked this recipe because it's a lot lower in fat than the many chicken strip recipes that require dipping the chicken in oil or butter, or that are fried. It's not as crunchy as the high-fat versions, but still good. I served this for dinner, so I just cut each breast half into 3 strips, instead of appetizer-size fingers. I also used only a total of 1/4 t. cayenne, because I thought it might be too hot for my 8-year old otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States