Buffalo Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is our favorite snack! I always get asked for the recipe. Try using Synder's of Hanover "Hot Buffalo Wing" pretzel pieces for some extra kick. I cut the hot sauce down to just a tablespoon, still hot but not so overwhelming. I use Hidden Valley dry ranch mix and definitely DO NOT leave out the celery seed, it makes this great. For perfect texture the trick is to bake the mix. So preheat oven to 350. Mix together cereal, pretzels, goldfish. Melt butter in microwave then stir into it the last three ingredients (1 tbs. hot sauce though). Pour over cereal mixture, stir. Bake in a deap BIG pan for 15 min, take out stir throughly, then bake for 15 more. Take out stir and allow to cool completely. This stuff rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I've made this several times now and it's always a hit. Instead of packaged ranch dressing mix, I make my own from scratch, I suggest using Scotdog's dry ranch dressing mix which is also on this site. Hers has no salt which is good in this recipe because you get enough salt with the Goldfish and pretzels. I always use Frank's hot sauce and some times, I'll cut back on the goldfish by a cup and add in some dry roasted peanuts or almonds. NOTE: I do not use celery seed. We don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I liked the flavor, however VERY disappointed with the resulting texture. I'm not sure why Chex advises you to microwave. The cereal clumped together and was hard and stale tasting after only 3 minutes in the microwave, even stirring at 1 1/2 minutes. I will try this again, but I will BAKE in the oven on a lightly greased cookie sheet at 300 for 10-15 minutes, rather than microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a delicious mix I made for my Fiance when he went away for a business trip. I was not about to buy a $5 box of wheat chex so I instead used the rice chex (8C total). I recommend using unsalted pretzels though because the mix is pretty salty. Beyond those changes, it was ridiculously fabulous and will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I use a homemade ranch dressing mix so that I can control the amount of sodium. Also, I heard that Chex just came out with a box of mixed flavors of chex so that you don't have to buy 3 kinds to make the chex recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I wasn't sure how it would be with all the ranch dressing, but it wasn't too overpowering. I didn't have celery seed so I added a little celery salt (not 2 tsp though). I ended up using cheddar goldfish and pretzel goldsifh and then added sea salt bagel chips as well. This was a nice change from the usual chex mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Sorry, but this was very bland. If you want spicy chex mix, add some Frank's to the original recipe, along with extra Worchestershire. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
YUM! 1st attempt ever at making Chex Mix. Read many reviews and opted to bake instead of microwave at 250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Forgot to add the celery seed - opps! To make sure it was plenty spicy, I used Frank's EXTRA HOT sauce and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Really good! Not as spicy as I would have hoped. I didn't use the celery seed, and I only used corn chex...was a little too salty but not bad for a party mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting more Buffalo flavor. Instead it was kind of blah. I will experiment wit adding more Frank's sauce to see if that helps. I used the "old" oven method as well, I don't really care for the microwaved version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States