Buffalo Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is so good I did change a few things. I used 3 1/2 tablespoon of hot sauce(I used Franks Hot Buffalo sauce). I also used a Dill Ranch dressing mix and no celery seed. I will have to make more, I have already eaten half and it hasn't even cooled off yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is our favorite snack! I always get asked for the recipe. Try using Synder's of Hanover "Hot Buffalo Wing" pretzel pieces for some extra kick. I cut the hot sauce down to just a tablespoon, still hot but not so overwhelming. I use Hidden Valley dry ranch mix and definitely DO NOT leave out the celery seed, it makes this great. For perfect texture the trick is to bake the mix. So preheat oven to 350. Mix together cereal, pretzels, goldfish. Melt butter in microwave then stir into it the last three ingredients (1 tbs. hot sauce though). Pour over cereal mixture, stir. Bake in a deap BIG pan for 15 min, take out stir throughly, then bake for 15 more. Take out stir and allow to cool completely. This stuff rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Really good! Not as spicy as I would have hoped. I didn't use the celery seed, and I only used corn chex...was a little too salty but not bad for a party mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used 3 Tbl of hot sauce and added an extra 2 Tablespoons of Buffalo wing sauce. I only used 3/4 tsp of celery seed and that was MORE than enough. It was still on the bland side and I couldn't taste the ranch flavoring. If you eat a lot of it then you can taste the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
YUM! 1st attempt ever at making Chex Mix. Read many reviews and opted to bake instead of microwave at 250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Forgot to add the celery seed - opps! To make sure it was plenty spicy, I used Frank's EXTRA HOT sauce and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this for the holiday season and no one really was that thrilled with it. It was not that flavorful even though I added extra ranch seasoning. I will be sticking with regular chex mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Surprisingly bland. I even added more hot sauce than the recipe called for, and it did not kick up the flavor at all. I used homemade ranch dressing mix, but apparently this needs the additional sodium of the packaged ranch mix. I used generic "chickadee" crackers for added irony, and baked instead of microwaved. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I wasn't sure how it would be with all the ranch dressing, but it wasn't too overpowering. I didn't have celery seed so I added a little celery salt (not 2 tsp though). I ended up using cheddar goldfish and pretzel goldsifh and then added sea salt bagel chips as well. This was a nice change from the usual chex mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used about 1.5 more tbs of hot sauce (I used Franks hot sauce) for extra heat. I also used celery salt instead of celery seed and unsalted butter. For the pretzels and crackers I used Annie's Organic Snack Mix Bunnies (3 Cups) and added 2 C of dry roasted peanuts. It came out good, had kick and didn't taste salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting more Buffalo flavor. Instead it was kind of blah. I will experiment wit adding more Frank's sauce to see if that helps. I used the "old" oven method as well, I don't really care for the microwaved version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States