Buffalo Cheesy Chicken Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I was really excited to try this one. With some minor adjustments this can be a fabulous recipe. I read several ratings first and agree with several of the suggestions: Using less water is a MUST. 3/4 Cup is plenty. If you LOVE wings you need to use more hot sauce, otherwise it doesn't taste like buffalo wings. I used 6 Tbs and next time I'll use even more. I used "Frank's Red Hot" and since it's a vinegar based hot sauce, there's no need to use any cider vinegar. I also used 1 1/2 lbs of chicken and my husband feels that it still could use more, so next time I'll try 2 lbs. Other changes were minor: no peppers or mushrooms, whole wheat noodles, and gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese. Other ratings suggested using celery (a wing staple) and jalapenos - I'll definitely give both of these a try. I'm looking forward to trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was really good, however, I made a few significant changes that I think really contributed to the recipe. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and added fresh parsley in the ricotta mixture. Instead of four cups of spaghetti sauce I used 2 cups mixed with 2 cups of alfredo sauce. I used 1/4 hot sauce to give it way more of that buffalo wing taste. I also sprinkled the blue cheese on top of all the ricotta layers as well as the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
TREMENDOUS! I made it a few weeks ago and forgot to submit a review. My wife and I thought it was awesome. The only problem was the onion was too crunchy...so we picked them out as we ate. Next time I'll either not use an onion or I'll cook the onion beforehand to get it tender. Other than that...it was AWESOME. Great, creative recipe. I love lasagna...and I REALLY love Chicken wings...so this was perfect for me. Oh and I added a LOT more Hot sauce than recommended...but that's just me. I'm a hot sauce addict. I use "Frank's Red Hot" It's Hot...but not overpwhelming and lethal. It doesn't overpower the food. 2 tablespoons definetely wasn't enough. So if you like Hot sauce in general...I suggest adding more to this recipe. If not then just stick to the original formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Everybody loved it!!! I did a few adjustments. I shredded instead of diced the chicken. Added the whole bottle of hot sauce cuz we couldn't taste the 2 tbls. I don't eat mushrooms or onions so I did add celery. I omitted the vinegar and really could do without the water. I boiled the noodles first a little bit so I wouldn't have to bake for 70 mins. I baked it for 30... Overall it was Yummy and even my picky Brother In-law loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A co-worker made this a few weeks ago and it smelled wonderful. I asked her how to make it and she said she got the recipe off Allrecipes. I made this last week and it was amazing! I did add more hot sauce to this as most said, a full cup to be exact. I also omitted the green peppers and mushrooms. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
WOW! this was just what i was looking for - i typed in a few ingredients i had and this came up! I did make a number of changes, following advice from others on here (less water, more hot sauce, left out vinegar, used cottage cheese not ricotta, etc.). SO good! My fiance is going to love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Yummy! Used 2 lbs of chicken, and I think it came out just right. Used almost 1/2 c. Frank's Buffalo sauce, and it wasn't too much. Used 1/2 tomato and 1/2 alfredo sauce, and 1/2 mozzerella and 1/2 cheddar cheese. Also added close to 8 oz. blue cheese because I like it so much. The lasagna was delicious!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made changes recommended by previous reviewers: increased the amount of chicken, doubled the hot sauce to 4 T, decreased the water to 1/2 cup, omitted the bell pepper and substituted 2 diced celery stalks. To prevent the onion and celery from being crunchy, I sauteed them together in a bit of olive oil. I omitted the blue cheese due to personal preference. Instead of 12 lasagne noodles, I needed 15 (5 per layer) to fully cover the pan (4 lengthwise, 1 crosswise for full coverage). I found that I could use 2 cups of sauce in between layers, rather than the 1 1/2 cups as stated. With 4 T. of hot sauce, it had a bit of tangy-ness to it but was not overly intense. Both my hubby and I enjoyed this with these modifications. A nice change from standard lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I loved this recipe. I gave samples away at work and everyone that tried it loved it. Of course you have to like Blue Cheese. If you don't, it's a great lasagna without the Blue Cheese. Just leave off the last step or use a different cheese. Best lasagna I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
so i made a ginormous pan of this for a bridal shower today, crossing my fingers it was going to be excellent---and it was! i did admittedly change it - i subbed alfredo sauce for the tomato sauce - but used the basic idea for the lasanga and used the same cheeses as the recipe calls for. if i made it again, i'd keep the alfredo - it just doesn't seem like it would be right to make it with tomato suace. i would also like to try it with blue cheese next time too. thank you for a fabulous entree that completely disappeared at the shower!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States