Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
I have made this salad 3 times now and everyone loves it. I did make a change however. The first time I made this, I found out that I had no celery seed ( I could have sworn I did!) so I subbed dill weed for it and it's wonderful. I also don't drain all the vinegar mixture as it gives the finished product a kick. You will not be sorry with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
It seemed very unusual to marinate the potatoes especially with the sugar, but this recipe did not disappoint me. The obligatory, ubiquitous potato salads I have made for years seemed so blah. I had some really yummy potato salad at a salad bar the other night and was looking for a new recipe that came close to it. It seemed like it had celery seed in it and maybe some dill. The potatoes themselves also seemed to have something extra. I scaled this to make only ¼ of the recipe and added some dill weed and sour cream. I only marinated about 4 hours. It was plenty of time for the potatoes to soak up the marinade. It wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be. I also threw in a couple of hard-boiled eggs even though the restaurant version didn’t have any. It wasn’t exactly like the one from the salad bar. In fact it may even have been better. I actually enjoyed eating the potato salad for a change. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I like this recipe mainly for the marinade. I make my regular potato salad recipe and just marinate the potatoes first. It does make the potatoes softer, so if you like your potatoes a little firmer, maybe this recipe isn't for you. I really like the sweet and tangy flavor the marinade gives the potatoes. It really penetrates the potatoes, so that the flavor isn't all in the mayo mixture. I have made this for family gatherings and have received compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Great recipe. I have made this twice now - once for the home taste trial and again for an office party. I followed the recipe except that I cooked the potatoes a bit longer than suggested (1/2 hour) by accident and I used 1 1/2 cups of water/vinegar/sugar for the marinade to better cover all the potatoes. "Hands-down the best potatoe salad I have eaten in my 36 years on the planet." was the review via email from a co-worker later in the day. This is the only potatoe salad recipe I will use from now on. The vinegar/sugar marinade really imparts a wonderful flavor to the potatoes and the mayo/celery seed add the final touches. Very simple and extremely tasty. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is an excellent recipe for someone who likes the New York deli style potato salad of yore. I have made it several times, as is and with minor changes; such as using a little dill juice from the pickle jar, a little less sugar. The best time saver I have found is to buy a couple of boxes of store brand scallopped potatoes on sale, put the sauce envelope in the pantry and using only the dehydrated potatoes..boil them for about 15-16 min, then drain and put in bowl, pour marinade over the potatoes as per recipe. Proceed with recipe and is best made the day before using. Thanks, Bud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a nice change from the usual potato-and-egg salad. I used red potatoes with the skins on, and plain white distilled vinegar because that's all I had. I also doubled the vinegar and water, and cut down the sugar, and marinated it for 4 hours. It tasted great, tangy but not too sweet. I also added dill weed and crumbled 2 pieces of bacon on it. Excellent, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Easy good and sweet. I added some chopped celery and a little more mayo. Chilled the potatoes and vinegar 8 hours instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I took this salad to a picnic and everyone loved it, didn't change it in any way. It was delicious, thanks Bud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this for a neighborhood barbecue yesterday. We all thought it was too sweet. We're all used to a more "typical" potato salad with crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very different potato salad with the vinegar base, but delicious! Time consuming, but worth it for a great company side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States