Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is an excellent recipe for someone who likes the New York deli style potato salad of yore. I have made it several times, as is and with minor changes; such as using a little dill juice from the pickle jar, a little less sugar. The best time saver I have found is to buy a couple of boxes of store brand scallopped potatoes on sale, put the sauce envelope in the pantry and using only the dehydrated potatoes..boil them for about 15-16 min, then drain and put in bowl, pour marinade over the potatoes as per recipe. Proceed with recipe and is best made the day before using. Thanks, Bud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
worth the time and effort it is very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This is one of the best potato salad recipes I have ever tried. It is so traditional to a deli style, it is excellent. Does Bud have a Cole Slaw recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This recipe rocks!!! I have always wondered how I could get more flavor in the potatoes themselves. I thought marinating them would make them all mushy. I made this recipe exactly as directed, and it is superb. I added some hard boiled eggs though. We love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geri_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a nice change from the usual potato-and-egg salad. I used red potatoes with the skins on, and plain white distilled vinegar because that's all I had. I also doubled the vinegar and water, and cut down the sugar, and marinated it for 4 hours. It tasted great, tangy but not too sweet. I also added dill weed and crumbled 2 pieces of bacon on it. Excellent, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Loved this potato salad, but prefer to marinate just 3 to 4 hours. I use celery salt instead of regular salt and celery seed. Best made with red potatoes, red wine vinegar also works fine gives it a little more kick. Until I used this recipe I didn't like sugar or vinegar in our potato salad, the wine vinegar makes a world of differance. Be careful not to over cook the potatoes, they don't need to be as soft as with other recipes because they soften while marinating. I also add about a dozen eggs , can't imagine potato salad without eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was my first attempt at a potato salad. I really liked it, but a few others complained about the sweet/vinegar flavor. Next time, I will leave out the celery seed -- didn't care for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I've been told more than once that this is best potato salad my guests have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
THis has become a favorite and I make it every time we have company over for BBQ. The only thing I change is adding alot of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I really thought it was too sweet but I just had to try it for myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States