Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great recipe! The only change I made was to add a couple of hardboiled diced eggs to it. It turned out really well and was a hit at our cook out. Just a reminder - make sure to give yourself plenty of time to marinate the potatoes. It's definitly worth the extra time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I used this recipe basically for the marinade idea. Even then I deviated - I used a blue cheese vinagrette instead of plain vinegar & cut back a bit on the sugar(per previous reviews). I marinated overnight & drained off excess liquid next day. I added some finely chopped celery, chopped hard boiled eggs, snipped green part of green onions, some fresh snipped chives and a tblsp of dijon mustard along with the mayo (I also added 1/4 C. of plain yogurt). I salt/peppered to taste. I scaled this down to 5 servings as well and used red potatoes as I feel they hold up better than baking potatoes. Turned out great! I was looking for some sort of marinade to make potato salad a little less boring. I chopped my potatoes in small (1/2") size cubes so the 15 min cooking time was right on! I also added some crumbled crispy bacon right before serving. YUM!! Glad to have found this interesting way to marinate potatoes for a great salad no matter how you dress it up for your own end results - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Absolutely fabulous- the best potato salad I have ever tasted! The only thing I change is that I put in far less mayonnaise than the recipe calls for- maybe 1/2 a cup- since the potatoes hardly need anything else after all that wonderful marinating. If I'm out of celery seed, I leave it out, and this salad is still amazing. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I'm not a real potato salad fan, so when someone asked me to bring potato salad to a potluck, I thought I'd try something different from the usual mayo and mustard concoction. This was a little more work than ordinary potato salad, but I thought it was worth it. I was concerned that it would be a little unusual for some people, but everyone liked it and several people requested the recipe. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Very good with a nice taste to the potatoes. I used cider vinegar-because that is what I had. Kids thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Great recipe. I have made this twice now - once for the home taste trial and again for an office party. I followed the recipe except that I cooked the potatoes a bit longer than suggested (1/2 hour) by accident and I used 1 1/2 cups of water/vinegar/sugar for the marinade to better cover all the potatoes. "Hands-down the best potatoe salad I have eaten in my 36 years on the planet." was the review via email from a co-worker later in the day. This is the only potatoe salad recipe I will use from now on. The vinegar/sugar marinade really imparts a wonderful flavor to the potatoes and the mayo/celery seed add the final touches. Very simple and extremely tasty. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hellerup, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
A very tasty recipe! Will definitely use this recipe again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Very good!! My family's summertime favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZANDCOURTNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is an excellent recipe for someone who likes the New York deli style potato salad of yore. I have made it several times, as is and with minor changes; such as using a little dill juice from the pickle jar, a little less sugar. The best time saver I have found is to buy a couple of boxes of store brand scallopped potatoes on sale, put the sauce envelope in the pantry and using only the dehydrated potatoes..boil them for about 15-16 min, then drain and put in bowl, pour marinade over the potatoes as per recipe. Proceed with recipe and is best made the day before using. Thanks, Bud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States