Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
It seemed very unusual to marinate the potatoes especially with the sugar, but this recipe did not disappoint me. The obligatory, ubiquitous potato salads I have made for years seemed so blah. I had some really yummy potato salad at a salad bar the other night and was looking for a new recipe that came close to it. It seemed like it had celery seed in it and maybe some dill. The potatoes themselves also seemed to have something extra. I scaled this to make only ¼ of the recipe and added some dill weed and sour cream. I only marinated about 4 hours. It was plenty of time for the potatoes to soak up the marinade. It wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be. I also threw in a couple of hard-boiled eggs even though the restaurant version didn’t have any. It wasn’t exactly like the one from the salad bar. In fact it may even have been better. I actually enjoyed eating the potato salad for a change. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was VERY good! I was sceptical about lemon juice in potato salad... my hubby's a mayo/mustard potato salad guy, so this was a gamble. I couldn't get him out of the bowl! Best the day of making, after a day or two, the eggs taste hard & the dressing is absorbed too much for it to be real creamy anymore. Great for company & picnics! Will use often, that's certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great recipe! The only change I made was to add a couple of hardboiled diced eggs to it. It turned out really well and was a hit at our cook out. Just a reminder - make sure to give yourself plenty of time to marinate the potatoes. It's definitly worth the extra time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I used this recipe basically for the marinade idea. Even then I deviated - I used a blue cheese vinaigrette instead of W/Wine vinegar & cut back a smidgen on the sugar. I marinate for 4 hours and that's plenty of time. I added some finely chopped celery, 2 chopped hard boiled eggs, snipped green part of green onions and a tsp of Dijon mustard to the mayo base. Due to including eggs I also added 1/4 C.sour cream. I scaled down to 5 servings and used red potatoes as I feel they hold up better. Turned out great! I was looking for some sort of marinade to make potato salad less boring. I cut the potatoes in half so the 15 min cooking time was spot on. Added some crumbled crispy bacon right before serving. YUM!! Great job to 'Bud' regardless if I tweaked for personal taste - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Absolutely fabulous- the best potato salad I have ever tasted! The only thing I change is that I put in far less mayonnaise than the recipe calls for- maybe 1/2 a cup- since the potatoes hardly need anything else after all that wonderful marinating. If I'm out of celery seed, I leave it out, and this salad is still amazing. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I'm not a real potato salad fan, so when someone asked me to bring potato salad to a potluck, I thought I'd try something different from the usual mayo and mustard concoction. This was a little more work than ordinary potato salad, but I thought it was worth it. I was concerned that it would be a little unusual for some people, but everyone liked it and several people requested the recipe. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Very good with a nice taste to the potatoes. I used cider vinegar-because that is what I had. Kids thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Great recipe. I have made this twice now - once for the home taste trial and again for an office party. I followed the recipe except that I cooked the potatoes a bit longer than suggested (1/2 hour) by accident and I used 1 1/2 cups of water/vinegar/sugar for the marinade to better cover all the potatoes. "Hands-down the best potatoe salad I have eaten in my 36 years on the planet." was the review via email from a co-worker later in the day. This is the only potatoe salad recipe I will use from now on. The vinegar/sugar marinade really imparts a wonderful flavor to the potatoes and the mayo/celery seed add the final touches. Very simple and extremely tasty. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hellerup, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
A very tasty recipe! Will definitely use this recipe again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States