Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
It seemed very unusual to marinate the potatoes especially with the sugar, but this recipe did not disappoint me. The obligatory, ubiquitous potato salads I have made for years seemed so blah. I had some really yummy potato salad at a salad bar the other night and was looking for a new recipe that came close to it. It seemed like it had celery seed in it and maybe some dill. The potatoes themselves also seemed to have something extra. I scaled this to make only ¼ of the recipe and added some dill weed and sour cream. I only marinated about 4 hours. It was plenty of time for the potatoes to soak up the marinade. It wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be. I also threw in a couple of hard-boiled eggs even though the restaurant version didn’t have any. It wasn’t exactly like the one from the salad bar. In fact it may even have been better. I actually enjoyed eating the potato salad for a change. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was VERY good! I was sceptical about lemon juice in potato salad... my hubby's a mayo/mustard potato salad guy, so this was a gamble. I couldn't get him out of the bowl! Best the day of making, after a day or two, the eggs taste hard & the dressing is absorbed too much for it to be real creamy anymore. Great for company & picnics! Will use often, that's certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great recipe! The only change I made was to add a couple of hardboiled diced eggs to it. It turned out really well and was a hit at our cook out. Just a reminder - make sure to give yourself plenty of time to marinate the potatoes. It's definitly worth the extra time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I used this recipe basically for the marinade idea. Even then I deviated - I used a blue cheese vinaigrette instead of W/Wine vinegar & cut back a smidgen on the sugar. I marinate for 4 hours and that's plenty of time. I added some finely chopped celery, 2 chopped hard boiled eggs, snipped green part of green onions and a tsp of Dijon mustard to the mayo base. Due to including eggs I also added 1/4 C.sour cream. I scaled down to 5 servings and used red potatoes as I feel they hold up better. Turned out great! I was looking for some sort of marinade to make potato salad less boring. I cut the potatoes in half so the 15 min cooking time was spot on. Added some crumbled crispy bacon right before serving. YUM!! Great job to 'Bud' regardless if I tweaked for personal taste - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Absolutely fabulous- the best potato salad I have ever tasted! The only thing I change is that I put in far less mayonnaise than the recipe calls for- maybe 1/2 a cup- since the potatoes hardly need anything else after all that wonderful marinating. If I'm out of celery seed, I leave it out, and this salad is still amazing. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I'm not a real potato salad fan, so when someone asked me to bring potato salad to a potluck, I thought I'd try something different from the usual mayo and mustard concoction. This was a little more work than ordinary potato salad, but I thought it was worth it. I was concerned that it would be a little unusual for some people, but everyone liked it and several people requested the recipe. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Very good with a nice taste to the potatoes. I used cider vinegar-because that is what I had. Kids thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Great recipe. I have made this twice now - once for the home taste trial and again for an office party. I followed the recipe except that I cooked the potatoes a bit longer than suggested (1/2 hour) by accident and I used 1 1/2 cups of water/vinegar/sugar for the marinade to better cover all the potatoes. "Hands-down the best potatoe salad I have eaten in my 36 years on the planet." was the review via email from a co-worker later in the day. This is the only potatoe salad recipe I will use from now on. The vinegar/sugar marinade really imparts a wonderful flavor to the potatoes and the mayo/celery seed add the final touches. Very simple and extremely tasty. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hellerup, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
A very tasty recipe! Will definitely use this recipe again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States