Budin (Puerto Rican Bread Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
It took me back home. I love it! I added 1/2 tsp of fresh ground ginger and 2 of the little boxes of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This has to be the BEST bread pudding I have ever tasted. Absolutely delicious. I need to improve on my caramel abilities (I cooked it to hard crack stage) but even that did not spoil the dish. Will make this recipe over and over again. mlnordeste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ball Ground, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
favorite bread pudding recipe ever. everybody in my family raves about it. you may need to make more caramel sauce than the original calls for; i always do. this recipe makes a lot, and i use two medium-sized, round casserole dishes to make two individual puddings. doing that makes the finished product look like a giant flan; it's really very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I am Puertorrican, and this took back home. Amazing and very authentic recipe. I used Almond extract instead of anise. I just like the flavor better. I took one pan of puding to work, and it lasted 15 minutes. This is yummy!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
By far this is the best I've tried. I've been making this quite a few times for almost 2yrs now. My husband is from PR and budin is his favorite. He's been wanting some for a long time and I have tried couple of recipes until I came across this one...HE LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salserabarbie
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. The budin turned out absolutely beautiful, even my mom asked for the recipe. The only thing for me is that the spice tea needs to be more concentrated. Next time I'll add more spice and maybe even some ground spice right to the egg mixture. But overall it's very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was very good! Everyone enjoyedjavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')! I think I put too much milk in it, so it ended up more like a flan, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
wow! i just made this and i've been looking for a recipe like this for years! ha thank you it's awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe, and followed it as listed, and this BUDIN IS THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD!!! Everyone in the family LOVED it!! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will be making this more often..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkcupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
this is a very good and easyy to follow recipe!!!!!!! I had to substitute the tea mixture with grounds .. was out of sticks and whole cloves.. I also subbed the anise with almond extract and it worked out nicely!! I am definetly going to used the recipe again and more often Thanks for sharing.. oh and your direction are so clear and to the point love that especially!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States