Budin (Puerto Rican Bread Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
My PR friend made this with dried cranberries. The sweetness was just right, not overpowering or sugary, and it was delicious! I usually don't eat sweets but this was a surprise! If I make it and she's supposed to share the recipe, I'll add some rum! My mother used to make a rum cake that was to "die for"! This seems like something that I can work with. My mother's recipes were always "in her head!" Lol. I think some tradition was lost but she was totally old-school! Luv ya Mom...RIP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dirtylaundri
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Awesome recipes came out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystal Milan
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving 2014. I recommend that this particular item be made 2 days in advance. Solely because, the flavors are outstanding and quite better the more time given to marinate as it cools. On Thanksgiving Day my mom and I decided to take a taste. It was after all my first bread pudding . My brother saw and decide to do the same 1 hour later it was practically gone. I'm Puerto Rican, it reminded my mother and I of our island. Particularly the first step, traditionally we make that spiced water as our tea when sick. I'd give it more than 5 stars but that's all I'm allowed to give. This recipe is simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Milan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aileen Orta
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent. Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen Orta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
The caramel sauce for the top was a little tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this recipe exact, except, I didn't have anise seeds, so I just didn't add anything. At first I thought the mixture was alot to fit into a small loaf pan, but it worked! perfectly. I love bread pudding. This is delicious! I really don't know what this should taste like as it's my first time making it, but it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I wanted to make it exactly as directed, but had a difficult time finding anise seed. I substituted 1 teaspoon vanilla for the anise seed and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe literally brought tears to my eyes when I tasted it. For years I have been longing to have a "budin de pan" like my grandmother's and this one was by far the BEST!!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dacubbi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was FANTASTIC!!! The only thing I did different was I didn't cut the ends off the bread b/c I used hamburger and hot dog buns that were left over from the 4th of July - Didn't want them to go to waste. That's the only thing I did differently. This was a true hit and a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States