Budin (Puerto Rican Bread Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
My PR friend made this with dried cranberries. The sweetness was just right, not overpowering or sugary, and it was delicious! I usually don't eat sweets but this was a surprise! If I make it and she's supposed to share the recipe, I'll add some rum! My mother used to make a rum cake that was to "die for"! This seems like something that I can work with. My mother's recipes were always "in her head!" Lol. I think some tradition was lost but she was totally old-school! Luv ya Mom...RIP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chieko Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dirtylaundri
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Awesome recipes came out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystal Milan
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving 2014. I recommend that this particular item be made 2 days in advance. Solely because, the flavors are outstanding and quite better the more time given to marinate as it cools. On Thanksgiving Day my mom and I decided to take a taste. It was after all my first bread pudding . My brother saw and decide to do the same 1 hour later it was practically gone. I'm Puerto Rican, it reminded my mother and I of our island. Particularly the first step, traditionally we make that spiced water as our tea when sick. I'd give it more than 5 stars but that's all I'm allowed to give. This recipe is simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Milan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aileen Orta
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent. Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen Orta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
The caramel sauce for the top was a little tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this recipe exact, except, I didn't have anise seeds, so I just didn't add anything. At first I thought the mixture was alot to fit into a small loaf pan, but it worked! perfectly. I love bread pudding. This is delicious! I really don't know what this should taste like as it's my first time making it, but it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I wanted to make it exactly as directed, but had a difficult time finding anise seed. I substituted 1 teaspoon vanilla for the anise seed and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe literally brought tears to my eyes when I tasted it. For years I have been longing to have a "budin de pan" like my grandmother's and this one was by far the BEST!!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dacubbi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was FANTASTIC!!! The only thing I did different was I didn't cut the ends off the bread b/c I used hamburger and hot dog buns that were left over from the 4th of July - Didn't want them to go to waste. That's the only thing I did differently. This was a true hit and a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States