Budget-Wise Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
great place to start! also, just a note for the folks who keep complaining that it had no gravy or that it's not a good chicken POT pie...well, that's the thing. it's not a POT PIE. it's chicken pie. pot pie has a gravy, chicken pie does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Carton

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lomita, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I used extra broth and real onion and I also added salt and thyme. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
worst chicken pot pie I have ever tasted. I must have done something wrong because it was inedible and we had to go to McDonalds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used canned corn instead of carrot, this was fabulous! My husband and teenage son raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was not a success I'm afraid. I usually make sure my chicken recipes have a little more moisture. It's so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
As written, a four - but as made, a 5-star. My husband made this for me, it was excellent. He used 1 cup of broth, added two stalks sliced celery, only used 3/4 tsp salt, and used fresh onion, not minced. The recipe fails to mention time needed to saute the chicken (or assumes you're using pre-cooked) - he seasoned it with basil. Also, took 35 minutes to bake, not 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and absolutely loved it. My husband found it a little bit dry, so the next time I made a roux and added that to the mix before baking, and this time we both loved it! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I really enjoyed it! Lots of room to play around with this easy-to-follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made quite a few changes, but this was such an awesome beginning recipe that I gave it 5 stars. Here's what I did: Sauteed the chicken in olive oil with an onion and two crushed up bay leaves. In another pan, sauteed in olive oil 2 shredded carrots and 4 medium-sized shredded potatoes, plus two stalks of celery. I added a little rosemary and some dried minced onion while the veggies were cooking. After both pans were finished cooking, I combined them and added black pepper and 1 cup of chicken broth and two more bay leaves. A pre-fab pie crust from the refrigerated aisle finished up this easy dish. One last note: The pie took over an hour to bake fully, but was perfect in the end. Can't wait to share this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I shredded the vegetables with a food processor, including some onion instead of the onion powder. I also added about a cup of cheese and additional chicken broth. Shredding that way is faster than chopping and cooking them is a lot faster too. In addition my kids found the shredded veggies more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States