Budget-Friendly Hearty Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I thought is was great, and so did my family. I did use apple cider instead of wine, and spicy Italian sausage instead of bratwurst, and 6 black peppercorns instead of white pepper. ...So in short, I used this recipe as a framework and filled in the white spaces with whatever I had on hand, but like I said, we thought is was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I substituted frozen, Italian-style, turkey meatballs for the bratwurst - because I had them and they’re a more heart-friendly ingredient. It was delicious. I added 1/2 to 1 C. of extra water to tone the strength and make a better soup consistency. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and was disappointed in the lack of contrasting flavors in this soup. The seasoning was adequate, but the sweet potato and carrot were too similar. If I try it again, I'll substitute an alternative for the carrot to improve the appearance and variation in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this recipe, substituting white wine with sherry cooking wine, cut the bratwurst in half since that's all I had on hand, used 1 sweet potato and 1 white potato and added 1 cup apple juice along with the broth. Then I sprinkled in just a bit of cajun seasoning. It is delicious and definitely one to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I just finished a big bowl of this and some beer bread and it was delicious. I used turkey smoked sasuage because that was in the freezer and browned it first. This recipe would be dellicious with almost any combo of veggies, but the ones in the recipe are good enough for me. I have leftovers and I am very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just OK for me. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used yams instead of sweet potatoes because that's all the grocery store had, I browned the turkey bratwurst even though the recipe doesn't say anything about it, and I only used 1/4 cup rice cooking wine because it was the first time I'd ever used it and I was worried about not liking it. I had to almost double the broth to keep it a soup instead of a stew, but I thought it turned out great! The flavors and spices mixed very nicely; makes a very good fall/winter soup. This recipe will definitely be made again, although I don't know if I'm going to increase the amount of wine from 1/4 cup that I used to 1/2 cup that it calls for... I like it just the way I made it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazingly simple totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The combination of cabbage and sweet potatoes amazingly works. This recipe is highly recommended for flavor and simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Used 1/4 vinegar & 1/4 C water instead of the wine. Might try to reduce to 1/8 C & 3/8 C mix next time. Increased chicken broth to 4 C. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States