Budget-Friendly Hearty Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and was disappointed in the lack of contrasting flavors in this soup. The seasoning was adequate, but the sweet potato and carrot were too similar. If I try it again, I'll substitute an alternative for the carrot to improve the appearance and variation in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We enjoyed the flavor of this soup. I added about a cup more broth for a more soup-like consistency. I will certainly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I agree that this is a good low budget Winter soup. I also agree that it is a bit bland. I used cooking sherry instead of white wine [just because that is what I had on hand]. Also, for my second serving, I added a healthy squirt of yellow mustard along with some fresh baked yellow corn bread. A veritable Winter feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Used 1/4 vinegar & 1/4 C water instead of the wine. Might try to reduce to 1/8 C & 3/8 C mix next time. Increased chicken broth to 4 C. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The combination of cabbage and sweet potatoes amazingly works. This recipe is highly recommended for flavor and simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I make something very similar to this with great results. Instead of the other seasonings, try adding cajon season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazingly simple totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I thought is was great, and so did my family. I did use apple cider instead of wine, and spicy Italian sausage instead of bratwurst, and 6 black peppercorns instead of white pepper. ...So in short, I used this recipe as a framework and filled in the white spaces with whatever I had on hand, but like I said, we thought is was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used yams instead of sweet potatoes because that's all the grocery store had, I browned the turkey bratwurst even though the recipe doesn't say anything about it, and I only used 1/4 cup rice cooking wine because it was the first time I'd ever used it and I was worried about not liking it. I had to almost double the broth to keep it a soup instead of a stew, but I thought it turned out great! The flavors and spices mixed very nicely; makes a very good fall/winter soup. This recipe will definitely be made again, although I don't know if I'm going to increase the amount of wine from 1/4 cup that I used to 1/2 cup that it calls for... I like it just the way I made it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this recipe, substituting white wine with sherry cooking wine, cut the bratwurst in half since that's all I had on hand, used 1 sweet potato and 1 white potato and added 1 cup apple juice along with the broth. Then I sprinkled in just a bit of cajun seasoning. It is delicious and definitely one to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States