Budget Berry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just got through making this for the second time and love it, love it, love it!! I always use raspberry jello. I tried strawberry, but it didn't have near the flavor of the raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This jam is great! A very pleasant surprise! Try it if you have some green tomatos - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this recipe using sugar-free cherry gelatin and Splenda. It was very good. Had the ladies at work sample without telling them the ingredients---they were pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I've made this recipe in the past and it turns out great! I use either raspberry or strawberry jello and no one can tell that it's made with green tomatoes. Instead of freezing the jam I process my jars in a boiling-water canner for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This really works, and it's delicious. The tomatoes I used the second time were probably 2/3 of the way ripe, and it still worked great! I will use this recipe for my green tomatoes for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I just made this and am pretty surprised with the taste. I thought it would have some tomato taste to it but none at all. I did cut it down to 8 serving to try at first and I used cherry jello. I added sugar to it and it turned out really sweet but still good, I made a second 8serving batch and did not add the sugar and that turned out MUCH better. I will be using this recipe again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Delicious. Perfect use of too many end of season green tomatoes. I used the called for amount of sugar, but used sugar-free gelatin....perfect. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Of course it's not the real thing, but for what it is, left over green tomatoes from the garden, it is fantastic. I used some in a berry vinaigrette for salad, and it was very good. My son enjoyed it very much as well, on bread as a jam. Thank-you for giving me a way to take something useless and make it into something usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Miranda628- One suggestion about the runny consistency could be because of using the tomatoes seeds and skin in your pulp. Blanch the tomatoes and remove the skin and take out all seeds inside. Your jam may set better because there is not excess liquid. Hopefully this helps because this looks like an awesome recipe and I can not wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
MY grandma used to make this. I used raspberry jell-o. It suprisingly good, we use it on toast and bagles the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States