Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! Or perhaps I should say BowWow! My 2 standard poodle girls think this is the best. They also want to know what took me so long. I made up a batch of this (forgot 2 of the ingredients-oops!) but it has solved the problem of left overs in the dishes. I mix it about one third to two thirds of their dry food and it goes like magic. Thanks to BKBISHOP for placing this on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Buster and Zachary loves this doggie casserole. I omitted the carrots and used pumpkin. I also added some flax seed for fiber and omitted the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My chow loves this recipe. We shaved her beautiful coat two years ago and nothing worked for it to come back. It is growing in slowly and I beleive the good nutrition of this food helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This really tasted great, but after a few days of eating the leftovers, I hurt my back trying to lick myself. I'm doing much better now, and am getting more and more flexible. Maybe someday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Careful note! Garlic and onions can cause anemia in dogs and cats. (Also, grapes and raisins can be toxic in large amounts). Can't wait to try this recipe today. Great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
We ran out of dog food, so I made this in a pinch with some of the things that I had lying around the fridge. I didn't have chicken, so I used cooked hearts and gizzards, chopped. In place of the oats and cottage cheese, I had some stale Special K fruit & yogurt cereal. Used a can of black eyed peas in place of the kidney beans. Accidentally bought a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower, so I used that, and a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach. I have a Great Dane/American Pit Mix, so he is a very big boy (about 80 lbs, but still growing), but not super active. His dry food recommends about 3 3/4 of food a day, so I have given him about 2c. for breakfast so far. He LOVED it so much that I had to take it away from him for a few minutes because he was gobbling it too fast! My only "complaint" is that there are no serving guidelines in the recipe--do I simply give him the same amounts as his dry food, or is this more fattening, and therefore I should be giving him less? At any rate, I will be making this again with some of the other suggested ingredients. I will be looking for ways to cut down on prep time, too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This recipe is a miracle. My little Yorkie won't eat a thing. He was under weight and he would starve himself. I tried every dog food under the sun. The first time I made this recipe he gobbled it down plate after plate. He has been on a diet of this food only for about 4 months now and he is a completely different dog. He is happy, a good weight, energetic, basically everything you want for your little best friend. Now when his plate is empty and he is hungry he barks for me to fill it. Thanks so much for this amazing recipe. It's easy and 1 batch lasts me a few weeks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Nicci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have 2 dogs, an average sized male Doberman with typical skin allergies, and a donkey sized Mastiff. This food is great for them both, not to mention cheaper. My dogs love this food so much I have to watch them eat so they don't steal food from each others' bowls. When I fed them the food that costs $65 for a 35lb bag they would sit and stare at me, or leave food in the bottom of the bowl. Not anymore. My personal additives: pork roast since I have one dog with a beef allergy, but cook it VERY thoroughly, dogs can get trichinosis too. I've also added asparagus, and a tablespoon of plain yogurt with live cultures just before serving to cut down on the gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDTISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bayside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I'm making my 3rd batch today (making a double batch finally, this recipe only lasts for 5 days with our big doggy!) and she's been doing great on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a great base recipe. The blue berries are a fantastic idea, I would also add some flax seeds and, if your pet is older, some glucosomine. I would leave out the beans. If you are looking for a dog food recipe because your dog does not respond well to store bought, (ie- skin problems, allergies, etc), you should try leaving out the beef and or chicken and trying alternate protiens like fish or venison. Also the pumpkin contains a LOT of fiber, which is great for a constipated dog, (in fact if your dog is ever constipated a can of pumpkin pie filling should do the trick), so a messier stool may result if you use too much. Also I would be very cautious with the cottage cheese as most dogs are lactose intolerant, but a tiny bit for texture would probably be alright. Thanks for this recipe!!!! One more thing-the fish oil would deffinately be better than olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States