Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is a great base recipe! I just made it for the first time for my 2 year old small boxer-mix who has both sensitive itchy skin and a sensitive stomach. I have switched her dog food countless times due to both being picky and allergic reactions. Needless to say, she scarfed this up and licked her bowl (both are very rare!). I added some chicken hearts and gizzards, subbed a sweet potato for the carrots, and left out the cottage cheese. I put some parmesan cheese instead and will add a scoop of yogurt when I feed her for the calcium. I also give her RMB (raw meaty bones) as a treat (again for calcium). I hope this makes a big difference with her skin and stomach, but for now, at least she's eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Giorgio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this for my fussy 4 pound Chihuahua puppy who never eats anything and he absolutely loved it. The bulldog, lab and border collies also loved it. I left out the garlic because dogs should not eat garlic or onions. Simple ingredients and easy to make, I love this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I use to feed my dogs the BARF diet, but it was so involved, but haven't found anything I like to replace it until now. This is a great dog food, but to make it nutritionally balanced I added a few things. For convience I used 1 lb ground chicken instead of leg quarters. I added a heart, a kidney and a liver minced up finely. I LEFT OUT THE GARLIC and added 1/4 cup yoguart, two eggs and shells put into the food processor. I also added one apple and pear graded. I make a double batch since I have two dogs. With a few changes this is a perfect recipe. I feed them raw chicken neck and wings in the morning and this at night. What happy dogs they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
We made this and did an experimental feeding it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
this was a big hit with my dog Bub. he's usually a picky eater but he was all over this and wanted more. he seemed to know the whole time that he was getting cooked for; standing by patiently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigIslandJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Captain Cook, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My dogs LOVE this. They have grain allergies so while waiting for my vet to order a new type of food to try, I decided to give this a whirl. It's a lot of food. I don't know who says this is cheaper than dry food--but they really really did love it. I have two dogs, siblings--a female that is 50lbs and a male that is 60lbs. I doubled this recipe and I gave them 3/4 c 2x a day. Calorically it was the same as the food they were eating (Blue Buffalo). Doubling this recipe gave me enough food for 2 dogs for 4 days. A few notes: I bought frozen chicken breasts. Less fat with no skin and the lean white meat was better for them than the dark meat--plus I didn't have to pick bones. I used 1 16 oz bag of frzn chopped spinach 1c of pumpkin instead of carrots 1 bag of steamfresh sugar snapped peas, chopped in food processor I did puree the kidney beans. Next time I will use lentils for economy. I SKIPPED THE GARLIC. IT'S NOT GOOD FOR DOGS. I may skip the oats next time--if these guys are allergic to all grains, I'll just add more rice. Otherwise, I highly recommend. They love it. I love feeding them food with no chemicals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Garlic is posinous to dogs and cats??? Everything else in the recipe looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
DO NOT USE THE GARLIC!!! Dogs react to garlic similar to their reaction to onions. These two foods can destroy a dog's red blood cells and cause anemia. It is like poison to a dog. This has been stated by many veterinarians and is also listed on PetMD.com. It includes ALL forms of garlic and onions (raw, powdered, minced, etc). Please make sure you know the foods your pets can and cannot eat before feeding them any kind of table food; especially if you're going to be making their food. If you are unsure and want to check for yourself please go here...http://pets.webmd.com/dogs/ss/slideshow-foods-your-dog-should-never-eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe produced a dish that looked and smelled so good that I was almost tempted to try it! I have a 20 lb. French bulldog, and she is a picky eater and prone to dry skin and shedding, along with some sensitive stomach issues. I was worried that she wouldn't like it, but she attacked it as if she had never seen food before! She loved it and seemed so much more satisfied when she was done. I made a double batch and it will likely last 3 or 4 weeks easy...and it was inexpensive! Can't wait to see what kind of results she gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My two dogs have have been on this food for a week, and I just made a second batch. They truly love this fresh tasting food, and didn't have any digestive issues when I made the switch. In fact, I was surprised at how much less I was cleaning up after them outside. I think this food has resolved my Chihuahua's constipation, and I no longer have to trick my senior dog into eating--it's good to see her eating with enthusiasm. Thanks to Buddy and Bubba for sharing their recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States