Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Leved the recipe. Perhaps maybe all the commentors could post some recipes as well. They certainly to have plenty of advice/expertise on the subject. Would love to see more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
People are commenting on the long cook time. Most of the ingredients that take a while to cook are things you will be cooking during the week anyway. Browning a lb of beef for dinner, brown 2 and set 1/2 aside in the fridge. Same with chicken. Etc. I double on ingredients when I'm cooking during the week and then I batch up dog food on the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Mine is a 7 year-old, 20 lb. Japanese Chin/Papillion mix. She's been eating canned Wellness with a few pieces of chicken mixed in for years. She won't eat dry, crunchy food. While it took me hours to prepare this (triple batch), I have a great supply in quart size ziplock bags in the freezer. I omitted the cottage cheese, subbed canned pumpkin for the carrots, added flax seeds and, when serving, add yogurt. I did run the green veggies through the food processor. She's been on this new food plan for a week and loves it. I've been watching her for differences and what I've noted is that she is more perky and happy, and she now walks me instead of vice-versa. I wondered if it was my imagination until my neighbors pointed out the same changes. Her bm's are unchanged, but kind of green. Overall, I'm delighted with the results thus far and wish I had fed her this way from the beginning. Know in advance though, if you triple the batch as I did, you'll need some really big cookware and a free afternoon. The next time, I'll do a double batch and it will go a lot quicker. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I love making this for my dogs. I completely replaced our regular dry dog food with this recipe for the past couple months. It's a much healthier alternative and it seems to be helping with the dogs' allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I have been making this for almost a year. My golden retriever loves it. I did substitute the pumpkin for the carrots, eliminated the garlic, and added flaxseed. My vet told me to add one ground up TUMS per cup for added calcium. It freezes well so I make a triple batch which last 6- 8 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
My one year old pitbull mix (50 pounds) was having crazy allergic reactions to the commercial food brands no matter how "real" they claimed to be. I started doing research on homemade food and finally found this great recipe filled with healthy foods for her. She goes bonkers when I'm filling her bowl, wags her tail and does all kinds of tricks for me! It is such a great feeling knowing I'm feeding my dog the best. On a student budget this is affordable, it cost me about $25 to buy all these ingredients and feed her 1-1 1/2 pound of food a day (1 cup in the morning and 3/4 of a cup at night) . Some added tips: You need to add calcium (grind up eggshells), add an omega and a multivitamin. I add ground up eggshells, fish oil and "Solid gold seameal" (a all natural supplement for coat, immune and heart health.) Liver once a week and a boiled egg once a week is great for them too! Check with your vet that this recipe meets your dogs needs (all dogs are different some require more of this and that than others may), you gotta be extra safe with your four legged creatures. Happy feedings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! We tried about 3 different types of expensive holistic, all natural puppy chow for our 8-month old lab mix with a serious heart condition ($65 for a big bag), but in the past month stopped eating it and wasn't being himself - so I cooked up a double batch of this recipe and he absolutely loves it! He devours the whole bowl and is a completely different puppy - so much more energy and playfulness and much less destructive chewing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
My Frenchie is very finicky and she wouldn't touch even the most expensive store bought food. However, now that I started using this recipe, she gobbles it up as if she has never seen food before! I triple the recipe and portion servings into 1.5 cup gladware containers and freeze them so that I have about a month's worth of food on hand. I use all frozen veggies instead of canned ( except for the beans ) to cut down on sodium. I highly recommend this recipe for finicky eaters and folks who are conscious about keeping their pet healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is a great base recipe! I just made it for the first time for my 2 year old small boxer-mix who has both sensitive itchy skin and a sensitive stomach. I have switched her dog food countless times due to both being picky and allergic reactions. Needless to say, she scarfed this up and licked her bowl (both are very rare!). I added some chicken hearts and gizzards, subbed a sweet potato for the carrots, and left out the cottage cheese. I put some parmesan cheese instead and will add a scoop of yogurt when I feed her for the calcium. I also give her RMB (raw meaty bones) as a treat (again for calcium). I hope this makes a big difference with her skin and stomach, but for now, at least she's eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this for my fussy 4 pound Chihuahua puppy who never eats anything and he absolutely loved it. The bulldog, lab and border collies also loved it. I left out the garlic because dogs should not eat garlic or onions. Simple ingredients and easy to make, I love this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States