Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Garlic is very toxic to dogs. This is extremely dangerous for someone who doesn't know much about dog health to find and use your recipe. A lot of people start feeding their dogs homemade meals because of their health in the first place. A dog with a compromised immune system will not tolerate garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Personally, I find sardines to be a great source of vitamin D for dogs. I would add a tin or two of sardines, ground up. I used 75% lean ground beef to analyze this recipe, and I came up with 54% fat, which is high, but which won't hurt your dog, as the recipe is 19% protein, and has a good amino acid profile. The omega 6 to omega 3 fat ratio is about 10 to 1. I would probably make one half or all of the oil, salmon oil to improve that and get some DHA into the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
My bulldogs had terrible itchy, stinky skin, but after 2 weeks or so eating this food (fed along with Iams dry food)their skin is cleared and the awful odor has vanished. The correct nutrition cured the issue quickly, whereas veterinary medicine was only able to bandaid the problem. We have been battling this problem for more than 2 years. This was a lifesaver. Scooby and Goliath are grateful...Thanks for the recipe!! PS-I have been adding 1/4 c. of raw honey lately and the boys eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I'm not sure yet. After 3 days one dog (chi/JRT) will eat it if he gets hungry enough. The other dog (chi/Italian Greyhound) still won't touch it on his own but will eat it from my hand when I try to entice him. The only changes were substituting pumpkin and lentils, and using half as much broccoli. The first dog has skin allergies and they flared up the first day he had the food. Not at all sure the food caused it. He gets into everything. I'm going to keep trying because I think ultimately they'll eat it. But - not sure yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My 1-year-old cavalier is very fussy and just picks out the chicken in any other recipe I tried. For this one, I steamed fresh organic broccoli and pureed it along with the spinach and a can of chickpeas. When it was finished, it looked very green and I was skeptical as to whether or not she would eat it. Well, she licked her bowl clean and was begging for more. This is a very good, well balanced recipe that your dogs will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My dog loves this food. She is 14 years old and has a lot of skin problems. I have tried a lot of different remedies for her problem and this recipe has done more for her condition than anything else. I also treat her affected areas with coconut oil and that also has helped a lot. I found that using a pressure cooker to make this recipe cuts down on cooking time considerably. I will continue to give this food to my dog and will probably try some of the alternative suggestions I read in other people's reviews to change it up a little from time to time. Also I am kind of confused about the garlic issue. I have been giving her a pill that is brewer's yeast and garlic that is supposed to be for healthier skin and now I am wondering if I am doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe! My dogs thrive on it. I have always fed garlic to my dogs and have always read it was a good thing. I think the webmd critical review may be off base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A very well balanced basic recipe. Adding the blueberries, eggs and fish oil as suggested in the footnotes will help perfect it. I would remove the garlic just because most people won't have a clue how much is to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It is so good I was tempted to eat some myself! The dogs love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUSTYJROSE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Readsboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I reviewed this earlier, but just wanted to add that if your dog gets an allergic reaction, omit the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States