Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not a quick recipe, but has made all the difference to my St. Bernard's skin. Before we started adding this to his dry food he scratched almost continuously and REALLY had an unpleasant odor. Just days after substituting this for the canned food we had been adding to his dry food, the odor is gone and he rarely scratches. I do triple the recipe because it is time consuming to make. I freeze it in plastic containers and take it out as needed. I do not add the garlic as I have been told it is kin to the onion, therefore not good for dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I would skip the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I just made this for the first time for my two dogs. They loved it last night when they got their first serving and this morning when i fed them. My Chihuahua Squirt is a picky eater I have had to feed him table food for over a year. I usually make him veggies and sweet potatoes but this is wonderful..he weighs 6 lbs. and ate the whole 1/4 cup i gave him...that is a new one..my other dog Cholie a mini schnauzer is also picky and she loved this food =) I will continue to make it for them =) thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dumas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I decided to test this out on my two dogs before giving the recipe to my Mum (her dog is 14 years old and has some health issues). So far my two love this food. For my 10lb dog she gets it all by herself but the 40lb dog gets a half and half mixture with his regular food, just because he has a big appetite. Now that I have made it a few times I have switched up the ingredients a little, exchanging pretty much whatever meats and vegetables I have on hand but the rest stays pretty much the same. I also took another reviewers advice and give them a spoonful of regular yogurt with their dinner to cut down on their gas. I am happy that I found this recipe because my dogs literally dance around waiting for their dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! Or perhaps I should say BowWow! My 2 standard poodle girls think this is the best. They also want to know what took me so long. I made up a batch of this (forgot 2 of the ingredients-oops!) but it has solved the problem of left overs in the dishes. I mix it about one third to two thirds of their dry food and it goes like magic. Thanks to BKBISHOP for placing this on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Buster and Zachary loves this doggie casserole. I omitted the carrots and used pumpkin. I also added some flax seed for fiber and omitted the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My chow loves this recipe. We shaved her beautiful coat two years ago and nothing worked for it to come back. It is growing in slowly and I beleive the good nutrition of this food helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This really tasted great, but after a few days of eating the leftovers, I hurt my back trying to lick myself. I'm doing much better now, and am getting more and more flexible. Maybe someday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Careful note! Garlic and onions can cause anemia in dogs and cats. (Also, grapes and raisins can be toxic in large amounts). Can't wait to try this recipe today. Great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
We ran out of dog food, so I made this in a pinch with some of the things that I had lying around the fridge. I didn't have chicken, so I used cooked hearts and gizzards, chopped. In place of the oats and cottage cheese, I had some stale Special K fruit & yogurt cereal. Used a can of black eyed peas in place of the kidney beans. Accidentally bought a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower, so I used that, and a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach. I have a Great Dane/American Pit Mix, so he is a very big boy (about 80 lbs, but still growing), but not super active. His dry food recommends about 3 3/4 of food a day, so I have given him about 2c. for breakfast so far. He LOVED it so much that I had to take it away from him for a few minutes because he was gobbling it too fast! My only "complaint" is that there are no serving guidelines in the recipe--do I simply give him the same amounts as his dry food, or is this more fattening, and therefore I should be giving him less? At any rate, I will be making this again with some of the other suggested ingredients. I will be looking for ways to cut down on prep time, too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States