Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Have been feeding my Chihuahuas this recipe for 2 weeks now. I have one that has very bad skin allergies for a long time and we have been trying different dog foods over the last year with no results. I decided to try homemade and sure enough, his pink irritated skin almost looks normal! They LOVE this food. LOVE it. I love that it suggest other ingredients. I made up 6 batches tonight. I put 1/4 cup peanut butter in 2 of the batches. Blueberries in another. Switched up the cottage cheese with shredded cheese. I'm going to try some cranberries next time. My pack of Chihuahuas are going to love the next few meals. Thank you Buddy and Bubba's human for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I just made this for my doggie and she really seemed to like it. She was even begging before I was done like she knew it was for her! My only complaint is the long prep time...be prepared to cook for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mno.cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My Great Dane/ Shepherd mix is one happy baby now. Have always felt odd about feeding corn based commercial foods. Cant believe the difference in his coat, let alone his demeanor. Not too shabby on the pocketbook either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
FYI: the cook included notes about the garlic causing anemia and to use it sparingly or not at all. This is a wonderful idea - found this by accident looking for dinner for my family using chicken leg quarters. My dog has been having the same problems as others mentioned (ear wax buildup, constant scratching, etc..) so I am elated that there's a recipe that can alleviate some of his problems, if not all. Thank you, BKBISHOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Excellent! It is time consuming so I make 1 1/2 to 2 batches of the recipe at once since I am freezing the majority in freezer bags with portions for three days. I also save time by using skinless, boneless chicken thighs and throw in a few chicken livers when they are about done. I use a food processor for the chopped chicken (but not the livers) and for the veggies and it makes a great mixture. I use refried beans so they are already mashed. I used the garlic only once but didn't like the smell in my refrigerator. The fear of anemia is remote -- only if they get too much garlic at once. I like cream cheese instead of cottage cheese as he doesn't like cottage cheese on it's own. Pumpkin is the way to go instead of carrots. You save time by purchasing the large can of pumpkin, using what you need, and pre-measuring the rest in bags for the freezer. I put this down next to a higher quality store bought food and Buddy's and Bubba's won the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germgaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
on webmd, they state that garlic can be toxic to dogs. I would research and consider removing that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
i didnt have chicken so i added some bacon and i didnt have broccli so i added 2 jars of babyfood green beans. and i didnt use olive oil cuz i didnt have any i didnt put no type of oil in it oh and inste of spinch i used chopped collered greens my german shepard loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have my dogs and cats on a homecooked diet from the book "The Whole Pet Diet" by Andi Brown. They are currently grain-free due to health issues, but this looks like a pretty good recipe to try for variety. Yes, supplements should be added. Parsley is great for breath, digestion, and vitamin C. Be sure to vary the meats, grains, and veggies. Fresh is generally better than frozen. Halo has a great line of supplements and you might want to look up balanceIT.com which predetermines the supplements your dog needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not a quick recipe, but has made all the difference to my St. Bernard's skin. Before we started adding this to his dry food he scratched almost continuously and REALLY had an unpleasant odor. Just days after substituting this for the canned food we had been adding to his dry food, the odor is gone and he rarely scratches. I do triple the recipe because it is time consuming to make. I freeze it in plastic containers and take it out as needed. I do not add the garlic as I have been told it is kin to the onion, therefore not good for dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I would skip the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States