Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My Great Dane/ Shepherd mix is one happy baby now. Have always felt odd about feeding corn based commercial foods. Cant believe the difference in his coat, let alone his demeanor. Not too shabby on the pocketbook either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
FYI: the cook included notes about the garlic causing anemia and to use it sparingly or not at all. This is a wonderful idea - found this by accident looking for dinner for my family using chicken leg quarters. My dog has been having the same problems as others mentioned (ear wax buildup, constant scratching, etc..) so I am elated that there's a recipe that can alleviate some of his problems, if not all. Thank you, BKBISHOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Excellent! It is time consuming so I make 1 1/2 to 2 batches of the recipe at once since I am freezing the majority in freezer bags with portions for three days. I also save time by using skinless, boneless chicken thighs and throw in a few chicken livers when they are about done. I use a food processor for the chopped chicken (but not the livers) and for the veggies and it makes a great mixture. I use refried beans so they are already mashed. I used the garlic only once but didn't like the smell in my refrigerator. The fear of anemia is remote -- only if they get too much garlic at once. I like cream cheese instead of cottage cheese as he doesn't like cottage cheese on it's own. Pumpkin is the way to go instead of carrots. You save time by purchasing the large can of pumpkin, using what you need, and pre-measuring the rest in bags for the freezer. I put this down next to a higher quality store bought food and Buddy's and Bubba's won the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germgaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
on webmd, they state that garlic can be toxic to dogs. I would research and consider removing that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
i didnt have chicken so i added some bacon and i didnt have broccli so i added 2 jars of babyfood green beans. and i didnt use olive oil cuz i didnt have any i didnt put no type of oil in it oh and inste of spinch i used chopped collered greens my german shepard loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have my dogs and cats on a homecooked diet from the book "The Whole Pet Diet" by Andi Brown. They are currently grain-free due to health issues, but this looks like a pretty good recipe to try for variety. Yes, supplements should be added. Parsley is great for breath, digestion, and vitamin C. Be sure to vary the meats, grains, and veggies. Fresh is generally better than frozen. Halo has a great line of supplements and you might want to look up balanceIT.com which predetermines the supplements your dog needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not a quick recipe, but has made all the difference to my St. Bernard's skin. Before we started adding this to his dry food he scratched almost continuously and REALLY had an unpleasant odor. Just days after substituting this for the canned food we had been adding to his dry food, the odor is gone and he rarely scratches. I do triple the recipe because it is time consuming to make. I freeze it in plastic containers and take it out as needed. I do not add the garlic as I have been told it is kin to the onion, therefore not good for dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I would skip the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I just made this for the first time for my two dogs. They loved it last night when they got their first serving and this morning when i fed them. My Chihuahua Squirt is a picky eater I have had to feed him table food for over a year. I usually make him veggies and sweet potatoes but this is wonderful..he weighs 6 lbs. and ate the whole 1/4 cup i gave him...that is a new one..my other dog Cholie a mini schnauzer is also picky and she loved this food =) I will continue to make it for them =) thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dumas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I decided to test this out on my two dogs before giving the recipe to my Mum (her dog is 14 years old and has some health issues). So far my two love this food. For my 10lb dog she gets it all by herself but the 40lb dog gets a half and half mixture with his regular food, just because he has a big appetite. Now that I have made it a few times I have switched up the ingredients a little, exchanging pretty much whatever meats and vegetables I have on hand but the rest stays pretty much the same. I also took another reviewers advice and give them a spoonful of regular yogurt with their dinner to cut down on their gas. I am happy that I found this recipe because my dogs literally dance around waiting for their dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States