Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Our two love it, but we are trying to bring an 83 lb Aussie pup down to 68 lbs. Are there a LOT of calories in this? I only feed 1/3 a cup with 1/3 cup of Wellness Core Reduced Fat twice a day. Ruby is 58 lbs, and seems like SHE is getting skinny. He is big boned and active, but you can't feel his ribs. Is this recipe too fattening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My 18 month old Shih Tzu Sputnik suffered frequent bouts of pancreatitis on the most expensive kibbles. No more! I make this up and freeze the extra in zip lock bags. He loves it so do all his bff's. (best furry friends). I did leave out the garlic and I often substitute organic canned pumpkin for carrots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This looks like a great recipe but I would like to know serving size by weight if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My 12 yr old Rott mix dog Harley, who has never had health problems, was diagnosed with diabetes last July and almost died...he lost 20 pounds seemingly overnite and he now has to have shots of insulin every 12 hrs and likely won't live a lot longer. I can't say for certain but I feel that commercial dog food somehow contributed to his illness, eventho he got some of the better rated, more expensive stuff most of his life. He was always a picky eater but now he's ill he's even worse. I found this recipe soon after and started making it, freezing baggie portions. HE LOVES IT! His blood glucose level improved and he started gaining weight! I lost this recipe when I moved a few weeks ago and his glucose jumped dangerously high and he lost weight because I've had to coerce him with expensive kibbles and canned foods, scrambled eggs, cottage cheese, whatever, but he is not interested. I'm so glad I found this again and I'm going to start feeding it again tomorrow! He always has a bucket of fresh water and a bowl of good quality kibbles available as well. It's more trouble than opening a can of food etc but I feel it is SO much better for him and he is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have to be honest - I did not try this but I did not want to lower the ratings, and yet I did not know how else to answer "Teresat" who said her dogs got the runs on this recipe. I think maybe the problem is that she added a can of sardines. I recently gave my dog a tiny bit of tuna as a treat and he loved it but his stools immediately got too soft. Try the recipe as written and don't add any canned fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I stumbled on this recipe trying to find something my two 18-month old Havanese boys would eat. They would barely touch the Wellness kibble we put out and ended up eating mostly lamb-rice sticks from Costco, which I knew was not a balanced diet! After reading the rave reviews of this recipe, I made a batch and began feeding it to them two days ago. I mixed it with the kibble (to give them something hard to chew on as some reviewers suggested) and added a tin of sardines for the extra vitamins. They LOVED it - gobbled it down voraciously and literally licked the plate clean. I was so gratified to feed them something they loved and was good for them. BUT since they started eating it, both dogs have had diarrhea/very soft stools and can't hold it overnight or even for a few hours while we're away from the house, so the last two days I've woken up or come home to messes inside. We walk them 3x a day but they're still going inside. HELP! Should I discontinue feeding this to them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe cured my Boston Terrier of a history of digestive woes. For the first time in his life he is a an enthusiastic eater. Even his gas problems are totally gone, and they were so bad that he used to leave the room after "cutting one".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My dog likes this a lot. I wish there was more of a gravy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
All I got to say is.............both of my dogs devoured this dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My Dexter Wonderdog loved this recipe. He is a very picky eater so this was an unqualified success. With this recipe I got 23 individual 3/4 c. servings which seem to be enough for my 9 pound Maltese. When I make it again, I am going to use chicken breasts because they are much easier to skin and bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerlynn
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States