Buckwheat and Bacon Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cassie Kubina
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is an excellent side! I tweaked it a little the second time but, love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Kubina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
It's hard to find good recipes for buckwheat groats. My husband loved it, but I thought it was just fine. The bacon flavor was more subtle than I had expected. I would double the recipe next time to have some for leftovers. Really just serves two people, as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I had this last night with dinner and loved it! I think with a few more veggies this could be a main dish rather than a side, but would be more like 1 serving than 2. I used 4 pieces of turkey bacon, and added about a cup of diced baby carrots to the onions while I caramelized them a bit. I had to use onion rather than shallots, since that's what I had, then I totally forgot to add either parsley or pepper at the end and this was still delicious. My husband doesn't like the earthy/strong flavor of buckwheat, but I thought it was great, and it didn't spike my blood sugar levels like a lot of "grainy" things can. (Yes, I know this is a seed...) I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Fabulous ! I also make this using Barley, wheat OR wild rice. ALL turn out great ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I accidentally used bulgur instead of buckwheat, but it still tasted delicious. This recipe doesn't make much -- I ate the whole thing for lunch (which is good for me because I'm the only one in the house who'll eat it). I didn't add salt because the bacon and chicken stock had plenty, and I used way more parsley for personal preference. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
LOVE IT! makes buckwheat very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I love buckwheat but I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I would recommend adding onion (separately cooked till golden) in the end, because otherwise it becomes mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The bacon is so good! Doesn't make a whole lot by our American standards, but this could be a main dish for 2 people. Careful about wolfing this down too fast... the buckwheat is SOOOO filling, you could get a tummy ache! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe rocks!! We are new to the gluten-free thing and this dish was the perfect intro. I had to double the recipe to feed my two pre-teen boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Really good!!! As much as my husband dislike buckwheat, even he admitted that this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States