Buckwheat and Bacon Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I used 5 strips of turkey bacon, extra garlic from a jar, 1/2 cup buckwheat and 1 1/2 cups very low sodium organic chicken broth. I left out the parsley and shallots, but added plenty of green onions. The cooking time was still perfect and my husband loved this! Thanks for the new buckwheat recipe (there are not too many off them around)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
this is pretty good. Definitely a savory side dish. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Really good!!! As much as my husband dislike buckwheat, even he admitted that this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe rocks!! We are new to the gluten-free thing and this dish was the perfect intro. I had to double the recipe to feed my two pre-teen boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The bacon is so good! Doesn't make a whole lot by our American standards, but this could be a main dish for 2 people. Careful about wolfing this down too fast... the buckwheat is SOOOO filling, you could get a tummy ache! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I love buckwheat but I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I would recommend adding onion (separately cooked till golden) in the end, because otherwise it becomes mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
LOVE IT! makes buckwheat very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I accidentally used bulgur instead of buckwheat, but it still tasted delicious. This recipe doesn't make much -- I ate the whole thing for lunch (which is good for me because I'm the only one in the house who'll eat it). I didn't add salt because the bacon and chicken stock had plenty, and I used way more parsley for personal preference. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Fabulous ! I also make this using Barley, wheat OR wild rice. ALL turn out great ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States