Buckeyes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My variations. 1 1/2 c peanut butter. 1/2 c graham crackers. 1tsp vanilla. 3-4c of powdered sugar. Following directions listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've been using this recipe for years, only I substituted the shortening with 2 Hershey bars, there's paraffin wax in the Hershey which helps the chocolate harden and not stick to you fingers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
With WalMart's natural peanut butter (which I think is creamier than my regular brand), I needed to add double the confectioner's sugar to make the balls more firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is the recipe my Mama & I always make! The graham crackers cut down on the sweetness of other Buckeye recipes and, in my opinion, the texture they provide remind me of Reese's Cups! We always use the Gulf Wax (brand)/paraffin wax, too, instead of shortening. It makes the chocolate a little harder & alot more shiny! You usually find it in the canning section of the grocery store; where you'll find Sure-Jell, canning jars, etc. :) TIPS: 1). Either buy a box of graham cracker crumbs or use a processor to FINELY grind them. It's best not to have big chunks (if you can help it, but they're still gonna be good either way!) 2). BEFORE you dip them, put the balls on a cookie sheet, put a toothpick in each one and FREEZE them for about 20-30 min. It will make them easier to dip. Even if you don't use the toothpicks, still freeze them instead if just refrigerating them. It gives you more working time. And it's best just to take a dozen or so out at a time, get those dipped, then take out some more. (Unless you're really fast, which I am not!) :p Hope the tips help those who had "dipping issues"! :) EVERYONE always says these are the best Buckeyes they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
really liked the texture of these. These are the old fashioned ones I remember from my childhood. The graham cracker crumbs make them not quite so sweet also which we liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Time consuming but addicting. Recipe adapts well with gluten-free graham crackers and dairy-free chocolate. Didn't do a very thorough job of crushing my graham crackers, so there were teeny bits that gave it a lightly crunchy (but not nutty) texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Of course these are always a hit. My friends in Oregon were so impressed! :) It's all about the audience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grrrl
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Definitely glad I made this recipe over the others - the graham crackers make all the difference! I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup generic store brand creamy PB (lower sodium, lower fat) and one cup natural creamy PB. I should have poured more of the oil off the top of the natural PB as the mixture was too creamy, and I had to freeze the balls before dipping. I liked the more peanut taste from the natural PB. I can't figure out a good way of closing or covering the holes but that doesn't change how great they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Not a good Buckeye recipe as far as ease of chocolate covering.Followed the recipe to the letter. Buckeyes would not release from fork nor would they stay on a toothpick when attempting to dip in chocolate. Cannot present these in public as is. Will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are awesome. Best buckeyes I have tasted. Love the graham crackers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States