Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe but I personally enjoy the richness with milk chocolate and yes as most say increase the amount of chocolate but unlike some I would never throw away chocolate lol make chocolate covered pretzels with the rest :) win win if you ask me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This may have been a great recipe...that is before Nestle's changed the ingredients of their chocolate chips. Now they won't melt for dipping (tried double boiler and microwave) They just get grainy. So I looked it up and sure enough, they are adding more wax so the chips keep their shape for cookies. Suggestions were to add oil or butter, which I did, but to no avail. So now I'm looking for another source of chocolate that will work for dipping. I'll keep trying, but right now it's rather disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were really good! My husband and I were craving peanut butter and chocolate but I was out of eggs to make cookies so I made these instead. They are a little sweet for me but my husband LOVED them! The only change I made was adding 2 teaspoons of shortening to the melted chocolate. It made it smoother and easier to dip into. Next time I won't make them so big!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made these for our Superbowl Party tomorrow and my boyfriend and I just tried one. They're dangerous...because they are soooo good! I usually read through 4 or 5 reviews before making something off this website to see what changes people suggest. I forgot to on this one and ended up making them exactly as the recipe says and they seem to be perfect. I like the texture, the amount of peanut butter flavor, they hold together well. Just plane deliscious. I did roll half of the batch in crushed nuts so people will have their choice tomorrow at our party. Can't wait to put them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Being from Ohio and an Ohio State graduate buckeyes are a must make recipe during football season! These ones are tasty, but I will add additional peanut butter next time and make the buckeyes smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made these for dessert at an Ohio themed dinner party. They went over really well, but the amount is just too much! If I had made a half recipe I would have had just enough for leftovers for the kids, but I had to sent some home with everyone. Not that anyone complained! Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is our favorite Buck Eye recipe. My 3 children and I make it several times a year for teachers and friends-- very kid friendly and very delicious! Try dipping the balls in crushed almonds after dipping them in choc.--heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good, but I changed the proportions. Used 2 cups of peanut butter and 4 cups of confectioners sugar. I didn't have any problems with the mixture being too sticky with the change in proportion. I did the chocolate in the crock pot, and it ended up being much thicker than if I'd done it over the stove, so I refrigerated the balls for about an hour to make sure I didn't lose them while dipping. Used a deep ladle as a dipping vessel instead of dipping them directly in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The amount of icing sugar takes away from the peanut butter taste. Best advice is to make them real small. Think ferrero rocher size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss5377422

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were good if you like REALLY sweet. Two suggestions that I will try the next time I make these. #1 - substitute 1 cup unsweetened cocoa for 1 cup confectioners sugar & # 2 use unsweetened or perhaps bitter chocolate to coat these. If using bitter chocolate, let chocolate set & then sprinkle with icing sugar. This will make them look pretty too. I tossed all ingedients in my Kitchenaid and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States