Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
When it says the mixture will be dry, that's no kidding. Even after rolling into balls, you couldn't get the toothpick in without splitting them open. So I went ahead and put them in the freezer for a half hour, still inserting the toothpick caused them to split. This recipe really frustrated me because it was just WAY too dry to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I put them in the deep freezer a while to make them really frozen solid. As for the chocolate, I add about 1/4 to 1/3 cake of wax to it. They don't melt as fast when you hold them that way but don't effect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Great filling for Inside out caramel apples! It came out a little dry (though possibly my measurements were off) so I added a little peanut butter syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chossid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
So good! It has taken me years to finally make these, one of my favorite treats of all time! This recipe did not disappoint. I was a little scared adding all that sugar that it was too crumbly, that maybe something was wrong ... nope, they rolled up great! I did follow some advice of others in that 1. I creamed the butter and peanut butter with vanilla before stirring in the sugar, and 2. refrigerated the mix for 20 minutes before rolling (not sure if this step was necessary). I wish I had made them a little smaller as I wasn't factoring they get even bigger with all that chocolate. I also should have added a little shortening or paraffin to thin out the chocolate, since it went on so thick, the 4 cups of morsels wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leah
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
i've used this recipe a few times now and i really like it. the last batch i made yesterday i couldn't use all 6 cups of sugar because it was just getting too dry to get to stick and roll. that wasn't too much of a problem, the one question i did have though is there a way to make these so that the finished product does not show the hole from the toothpick? mine have that dang hole in them so i don't think it looks as neat and pretty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These things just didn't work out. It tasted like I was eating gross raw peanut butter cookie dough with bitter chocolate. Definitely use ONLY 4 CUPS OF CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR! 4 cups was almost too sweet, I cannot imagine 6. But all in all, I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great recipe. The only thing I do different is, I use Mercken's milk chocolate candy melts instead of the chocolate chips. Melt the milk chocolate in the microwave. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My family loved them. Very rich and easy to make. A delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piece Of Cake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
so good!! and the toothpick trick works really well (but you don't have to put a toothpick in each one; just wait until after they freeze and then just use one or two toothpicks). Very easy, but a little time consuming. Definitely worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States