Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great taste and simple. Omit the salt though, 1 cup butter has more then enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I've made these dozens of times and they're always a huge hit! A few tips...After everything is nicely mixed form it into two or three large ball and refrigerate it for at least one hour. This will chill it and make it easier to work with. Take one ball out at a time and make a long log (size and length of a hot dog...thicker and longer depending how big you want your balls to be ;) ). Then cut the "hot dog" into the ball sizes you want and roll them out. This is a quick way to finish them up. (Instead of making one ball at a time..) This is a difficult treat to make during warmer months...unless you have air conditioning and aren't transporting them outside of it! ;) It can be done but soften when too warm... ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved this after combining tips from others users. 2 cups peanut butter, 4 cups confectioners sugar, 4 cups of chocolate chips. Froze the dough before i made the balls and again after i made them. (Before dipping) I used a crockpot for the chocolate and put 2-3 tablespoons of vegetable shortening, made the chocolate smooth and coat well. These looked and tasted amazing. Left over chocolate? Took another hint from someone. NO WASTE! Throw in 1/4 cup of peanut butter and some nuts (i had mixed) into the crockpot then pour onto a small tray covered with wax paper and chill. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth&dan
Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made these for holiday party, everyone commented how much they loved them. Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made these for over 40 years. I add a 1/4 of a cake of shaved paraffin to the chocolate melted in a double boiler-helps the chocolate set. And our recipe never called for vanilla. We don't freeze them either, just refrigerate until very firm. Freezing causes them to sweat. This is a Christmas staple in Ohio, our state tree is a Buckeye. MAIN THING: Close the toothpick hole!!! I hate to see them with the toothpick hole. Real buckeyes don't have a hole in the middle (unless it's got worms! LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just like my Grandma used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Love the simplicity of this recipe and it tastes great. Everyone I have shared these with has enjoyed them. They make a great canna-butter medible as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This worked out great. The mixture started to look crumbly at 4 cups of sugar, so I stopped there. If you want help with the chocolate, I usually add 1 tbs for every cup of chips. This helps thin the chocolate a little and also helps it melt so you can get a better and easier coating. I also recommend using a crockpot instead of a double boiler, if you can. It's an easier process and you are less likely to burn yourself. For the reviewer who ended up with a sticky mixture, you may have melted your butter. It's important that you only soften it. Melted butter means the mixture will be runnier and therefor sticky. To fix this, try freezing the mixture for 30 mins. If that fails, add more sugar to thicken the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Two things. We used an all natural peanut butter (Kirkland natural PB, creamy) and they were super bland until we added a generous amount of salt: probably about 2 TBSP. So for any of you out there who, like me, care about the hydrogenated nature of JIF, Skippy, etc. PBs but still love sugary, buttery peanut butter chocolate goodness.... don't forget to taste the peanut butter mixture before rolling and freezing! The second point: I used a little more than 5 cups of sugar instead of the full 6. I really don't think THAT much sugar is necessary, but to each his/her own. These are seriously delicious - everyone who ate them said that they were like a way more delicious version of Reese's cups. I made sure to take the balls out of the freezer once the chocolate was nice and hot, and had almost no trouble with dipping. I added a bit of canola/olive/grapeseed blend oil to my chocolate at one point, which didn't seem to affect the taste at all. I used parchment paper and aluminum instead of wax, and both seem to work okay as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States