Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Realy really, good! But it took me a few tries to get the technique right. This might help: the chocolate has the be very hot and the balls must be very cold for the chocolate to stick right. I melted the chocolate in the microwave, so I popped it back in for about a minute every couple minutes; and DONT take the balls out of the freezer until RIGHT before you are about to dip them. They will start to sweat after being out for a few minutes and this will keep the chocolate from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2873 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I've made this recipe several times and everyone loves them! I use 4 cups confectioner's sugar and 2 cups peanut butter. A few other techniques that have helped: chill the peanut butter mixture in the fridge 30 minutes before making the balls - this will help make a smoother, rounder buckeye. Also, melt more chocolate than the recipe calls for so you have a good pool of chocolate to dip the ball into (you'll throw chocolate away, but it will make the product look better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
For those of you who do not wish to use the stove top, try using a crock pot. The chocolate melts easy and stays melted for as long as you need. Remember to set it on low. If you don't plan on using your crock pot soon, cover and reuse chocolate at another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Quick tip for easier dipping. The obvious one of melting the chocolate in the microwave. I've made these since high school and never thought of that! The next tip is to use an ice cream scoop to get a scoop of chocolate and then dip the balls in that. The ice cream scoop gets enough chocolate in it to make 3-4 small buckeyes and if it falls off the toothpick, it's not falling far! It also helps to get a full, nice covering of chocolate instead of having to roll around the ball to get the top partially covered. Then, you can use a shallower bowl instead of something too deep for the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
613 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I've been eating my grandmother's wonderful Buckeyes all my life so I decided to give this recipe a try (since I didn't have her recipe handy). I would recommend this recipe with the following tweaks: definitely cut the sugar and sift it- I used about 4 cups, which worked well; add a tablespoon or two of shortening to the chocolate to help it stay a little firmer at room temperature; use semi-sweet chocolate as specified(I used a blend of milk choc and semi-sweet and it was too sweet); and to save time, just microwave the chocolate at a medium setting and stir periodically- it comes out perfectly creamy and there's no need for the messy double broiler. What a great holiday treat! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I did a little altering... For the peanut butter, I used Smuckers Natural creamy peanut butter(it has no trans fat. I am pretty much a health freak.), Smart Balance buttery spread(this stuff rocks to cook/bake with!) and I didn't have any semi sweet chocolate, so I used Bittersweet chocolate chips. Everything was Perfect!!! Also, instead of melting the chocolate on the stove, I put it in the microwave and stirred it every 40 seconds or so. Much quicker!!! You have to try the recipe this way. It is about as close to healthy buckeyes as you can get!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I make buckeyes every holiday season for my students (I teach high school). This recipie is great. I only have one hint. Add some parafin wax to the melted chocolate. The wax will thin out the chocolate and make it easier to dip. Plus, you won't use so much chocolate...this is especially helpful if you are making a double or triple batch like I do every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
HELP!!! I can't figure out what I did to this recipe. My mixture is too fluffy and when i started rolling them into balls they stuck to my hands and now they look like little porcupines. I added the correct measurements but something happened. I wonder if using my kitchenaid mixer was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Rolling the balls was very sticky, so I put powdered sugar on a paper plate and dipped both palms in after rolling each ball and it worked wonders; balls came out smooth. I also decreased the sugar in the recipe to about 4 cups, and sifted first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This was exactly what my husband was looking for! Tastes just like those candy easter eggs. I used milk chocolate instead of semisweet & it gave it a much better blend...not as bitter as with semisweet. Great taste & I'll be making it every Christmas now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZMOMX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States