Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
this is a great recipe. i make it every year for Christmas, my family loves the candy and it is always requested. when melting the chocolate for dipping the peanut butter balls, i add gulf wax. makes the chocolate very easy for dipping and gives a great shine to the candy. these often go fast around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These were good. I followed the instructions, used a double burner, Richard's Creamy Peanut butter (100% peanuts), and Ghiradhelli semi sweet chips. I refrigerated the peanut buetter balls for a couple of hours so they were really cold, and dipped the balls in batches, keeping the rest cold, so they would not "sweat". They turned out perfectly shaped like little balls. The only negative is they were really sweet! My kids of course love them but they were a bit sweet for even me, and I have a real sweet tooth. Good recipe, though next time, I will use less powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangecupcake73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
followed other's suggestions for 4c sugar (sifted) and adding shortening to the chocolate. Also creamed the butter and pb first and mixed the sugar in 1c at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Easy and tasty too !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
definitely use a large mixer. I used a little Hamilton Beach hand mixer, the poor thing fought through it but just barely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is awesome. The longer the balls are in the freezer the more chocolate sticks to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
had a horrible mess with trying to melt the chocolate..not sure what the heck I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My mother made these every December. Now, I make them for my own children (and husband!) and they love them just as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catryce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I made it today, only i didn't have chocolate. I turned them inside out and used chocolate syrup for the middle, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I halved the confectioners sugar and am so glad I did-would have been too sweet! I didn't really have problems rolling the balls-but since it's hot outside I found it easiest to periodically re-chill the filling and then stick my hands under very cold water for a few moments then blot dry rpior to rolling. Heat will turn them to a mess in your hands. I kept reheating the chocolate coating, but it kept getting really thick really quick, and the balls kept falling off the toothpicks. Kind of a pest, but the results were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States