Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made these for over 40 years. I add a 1/4 of a cake of shaved paraffin to the chocolate melted in a double boiler-helps the chocolate set. And our recipe never called for vanilla. We don't freeze them either, just refrigerate until very firm. Freezing causes them to sweat. This is a Christmas staple in Ohio, our state tree is a Buckeye. MAIN THING: Close the toothpick hole!!! I hate to see them with the toothpick hole. Real buckeyes don't have a hole in the middle (unless it's got worms! LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just like my Grandma used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Love the simplicity of this recipe and it tastes great. Everyone I have shared these with has enjoyed them. They make a great canna-butter medible as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This worked out great. The mixture started to look crumbly at 4 cups of sugar, so I stopped there. If you want help with the chocolate, I usually add 1 tbs for every cup of chips. This helps thin the chocolate a little and also helps it melt so you can get a better and easier coating. I also recommend using a crockpot instead of a double boiler, if you can. It's an easier process and you are less likely to burn yourself. For the reviewer who ended up with a sticky mixture, you may have melted your butter. It's important that you only soften it. Melted butter means the mixture will be runnier and therefor sticky. To fix this, try freezing the mixture for 30 mins. If that fails, add more sugar to thicken the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Two things. We used an all natural peanut butter (Kirkland natural PB, creamy) and they were super bland until we added a generous amount of salt: probably about 2 TBSP. So for any of you out there who, like me, care about the hydrogenated nature of JIF, Skippy, etc. PBs but still love sugary, buttery peanut butter chocolate goodness.... don't forget to taste the peanut butter mixture before rolling and freezing! The second point: I used a little more than 5 cups of sugar instead of the full 6. I really don't think THAT much sugar is necessary, but to each his/her own. These are seriously delicious - everyone who ate them said that they were like a way more delicious version of Reese's cups. I made sure to take the balls out of the freezer once the chocolate was nice and hot, and had almost no trouble with dipping. I added a bit of canola/olive/grapeseed blend oil to my chocolate at one point, which didn't seem to affect the taste at all. I used parchment paper and aluminum instead of wax, and both seem to work okay as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious - just like Grandma used to make. Have to make them peanut free due to an allergy in the house - not as good as real PB, but fulfills my annual holiday buckeye craving. To make them safe for peanut allergy suffers - use sunflower seed butter (sunbutter brand is peanut free) instead of peanut butter and hershey meltable wafers (many chocolate chips/wafers are cross contaminated with peanuts but in my area hershey chips and wafers are safe - always double check labels as manufacturing varies by location). The wafers melt nicely in the microwave, reduce power and stir every minute or so until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I love the dough in this recipe. The pb is so sweet! YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I love this recipe!! It's a new treat I make every holiday season...and it's a big hit! I made a change this year..2 cups of peanut butter and 5 cups of conf sugar . It's just a little softer and you can freeze the balls for a longer amount of time to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookies. If you add a bit of paraffin wax to the chocolate it is easier to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States