Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made them for Christmas Day and they came out a little dry. I only used 5 cups of powdered sugar. The next time I make this, I will have to make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was my first attempt at making buckeyes and this recipe was great. Just like I remembered them being. I did read several reviews before I tried them and halved the recipe. I started out with just 2 cups of powdered sugar and it wasnt quite enough. I poured a little more in mayba 1/2 cup. They turned out perfectly. I also refridgerated them instead of froze them and they didnt sweat as much while dipping so the chocolate stuck better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I use a very sm. ice cream scoop AND for the choc. I use a very small crock pot ( I think it is usually used for fondue. Works perfect & wonderful!! Thanks for the recipe! cmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very good. Dipping things in chocolate is a very versatile technique for desert. I made these and also Rum Balls with dark chocolate. Both were very good. I used a 1" disher to make the balls and this made a 2-bite product. If you use a smaller disher, you can make a bite size product. I made 55 one-inch balls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Although I adjusted it a bit... I only used 4 cups powdered sugar and 2 cups peanut butter. I also let the peanut butter mixture chill in the fridge for 30 mins before rolling into balls. It's much easier to roll them this way. Overall this is a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Extremely easy to make and my family loved them! I had chocolate bark on hand so I used it instead of the chocolate chips. Must say - it was easier than the Oreo Balls I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I loved this recipe. Although several of the reviews said the amount of sugar was too much. I found it just right. However, I creamed my room temperature butter and peanut butter together and then slowly added one cup at a time of powdered sugar. They turned out superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I liked the flavor of these, but I really had a very hard time getting the chocolate chips to melt. I had made Buckeyes last year at Christmas but couldn't find the recipe so I thought I'd try these. Not happy! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I had a nightmare with these, but it was not the recipes fault! I have never made anything like this before, and never dipped anything in chocolate. I melted mine in the crockpot because it seemed so easy...however, apparently if you get even 1 drop of water in melted chocolate it will "seize" and get really solid and change the texture of the chocolate. So that was my problem. I ended up making it work and even saved the recipe and they turned out pretty good considering the texture of the chocolate is a little funky. They have a great flavor and are super easy to make....just make sure you don't get any water in you melting chocolate! If you haven't done it before you might "google" it for some tips before you do it, what I should have done : ) Will make again and learn from my mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Easy and fun! Who doesn't like Buckeyes!?! Very easy and good!! I used milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States