Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Awesome. Totally awesome. This was my first time making buckeyes myself and I think it will now be a new Christmas tradition. The kids loved helping and we all loved eating! I did increase the peanut butter to 2 cups and decrease the powdered sugar to 4 cups as per previous tips. I had no problems. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I make oodles of these each year!! Never fails--they are love by all. I add some paraffin wax to chocolate. This thins it and makes coating much easier to adhere nicely to peanut butter balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These were sinfully delicious love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These were really sweet! They reminded me a little of peanut butter bars IV, except the graham cracker crumbs, make those bars a little less sweet. But, they were so easy to make and would work great to take to a holiday party. I did half the recipe and got 28. I used a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop and did level sized scoops. I didn't bother to roll them, because I figured with the flat bottoms they would stand up better on the plate anyway. To melt the chocolate I put it in the microwave on high for 1 minute stirring after 30 seconds and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Incredibly easy and turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These turned out fantastic. Super-easy, and they're really yummy (and addictive!). I will say, I used chocolate bark rather than the chocolate chips listed in the recipe, mostly b/c I had the bark, and I didn't have enough choc. chips available. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
make sure you have your butter at room temperature or completely soften. i made the mistake of rushing and so i ended with a few clumps of butter here and there. overall buckeyes were good! brought it over for family dinner and the people who love sweets, DEVOURED these. i think they can be made smaller for easier bite snack as a few have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I had to use 1/2 cup more peanut butter and 1/4 cup more butter and 1 cup less of powdered sugar to get them to roll without crumbling. But, other than that tweak, these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a fairly easy recipe to make. I did do as others suggested and increased the peanut butter to 2 cups and decreased the confectioner's sugar to 4 cups....it seemed to make the dough a nice consistency. I also refrigerated the dough before rolling out the balls, as well as used powdered sugar on my hands to keep the dough from sticking. I used the crock pot to melt the chocolate and it worked perfectly. The only problem with this recipe that I saw is it makes a LOT more than 30 buckeyes. I doubled the recipe and ended up with well over 175 buckeyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
No stove required. Been making these for years with plain chocolate chips or chocolate bark. Melts well and evenly in microwave. Also be sure to make small enough balls or they taste too chalky. I would suggest quarter size but no bigger. My son tends to make them meatball size... too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States