Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have grown up on Buckeyes (we called them Peanut Butter Balls). While this recipe uses the same ingredients, I quickly found out that it was not the same amount of ingredients my family (mom) had always used. This particular recipe uses SO MUCH confectioners' sugar! I couldn't figure out why they were SO sweet w/hardly any peanut butter taste...When I called my mom and compared the recipes it became clear! The recipe we used calls for equal amounts of powdered sugar and peanut butter plus other amounts of the other ingredients...So personally my family did not not enjoy this recipe as it was too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easiest recipe for yumminess! My dad is crazy about peanut butter/chocolate and I SO did not feel like baking; this was the perfect solution. A couple of tips from a girl who is usually a disaster in the kitchen: I melted the butter, which made for an easy and stirrable dough. I then cooled the dough in the fridge for an hour before rolling balls. I waited nearly 3 hours with the balls in the freezer before dipping them in chocolate. I did half with milk and half with dark, to please everyone. I also followed the advice of a rater who suggested the natural peanut butter and smart balance butter...would never know the difference. YUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We are from Ohio and have been making these for years! This is pretty similar to my grandmother's recipe. Don't skip the freezer part because these things melt fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
perfect recipe! everyone loves these when i make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Swelstad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Simple to make and sooooo good. This is a great recipe to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
LOVE these. Great recipe, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Dotson Byer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Our family found this to be the easiest and best flavored Buckeye recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Attica, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Blanchard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have a child who cannot eat eggs or milk, so I substituted the sunflower seed butter for peanut butter and used dark chocolate. It made it a million times better. I had to add almost another cup of peanut butter - it was too dry and tastless without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good (when can you go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate?) but kind of difficult to make. It was hard to roll the peanut butter with the toothpick into the melted chocolate without loosing the peanut butter ball. After rolling the ball in chocolate, I then rolled them in sprinkles for a festive holiday look. They didn't look fantastic, but they sure tasted good. Maybe something to make at home a few times to perfect your technique before trying to make them party presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States