Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good (when can you go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate?) but kind of difficult to make. It was hard to roll the peanut butter with the toothpick into the melted chocolate without loosing the peanut butter ball. After rolling the ball in chocolate, I then rolled them in sprinkles for a festive holiday look. They didn't look fantastic, but they sure tasted good. Maybe something to make at home a few times to perfect your technique before trying to make them party presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these for Christmas this year (1st time ever) and i added an extra 1/2 cup PB. i wanted to taste the pb instead of the sugar in it. It was great!!! Had so many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Classic recipe. Made these for Christmas and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These were good but too much sugar, couldn't taste the peanut butter. I made them again and cut back the sugar to 4 cups and added 1/4 cup more of peanut butter. I used the organic non sweetened peanut butter and they were great this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Completely off base with the ingredients. Way too much confectioners' sugar. Stop at 4 cups and increase peanut butter to 2 cups. I should have looked at the reviews before making, what a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Not as good as I thought they would be! Way too much powdered sugar as some of the others suggested! It really takes away from the flavor and way too sweet! Luckily my kids like them! I think I will keep searching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I found that using almond bark-chocolate and vanilla works really well and you dont have to add shortening. It comes out very thin in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This has WAY too much powdered sugar and now I don't have any more ingredients. I always bring the buckeyes and this recipe just really really stinks. My whole house says to throw the batch out :( I am super bummed Worst buckeyes I have ever tried/made and my buckeyes always turn out good. They are a crumbly mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
WAAAAY to much sugar... the recipe calls for too much sugar... I shouldve stopped when I thought so... I'm throwing them all away because they are disgusting... I'd agree with the person who said to use 4 cups of sugar... or find a different recipe all together. It was also difficult to dip them without the wax that one would normally use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These turned out wonderful. I am so happy I found this recipe. I ended up having to use 4 cups of chocolate though to get enough coverage on the peanut butter balls. Otherwise everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riehlsweet23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clyde, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States