Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a very good recipe. The dough was a little too soft so I put the dough into the freezer for 20 minutes before rolling the balls. After the balls for formed, I put them back into the freezer for 20 more minutes. Next time I will split them up so they are not sittng out waiting to be dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have grown up on Buckeyes (we called them Peanut Butter Balls). While this recipe uses the same ingredients, I quickly found out that it was not the same amount of ingredients my family (mom) had always used. This particular recipe uses SO MUCH confectioners' sugar! I couldn't figure out why they were SO sweet w/hardly any peanut butter taste...When I called my mom and compared the recipes it became clear! The recipe we used calls for equal amounts of powdered sugar and peanut butter plus other amounts of the other ingredients...So personally my family did not not enjoy this recipe as it was too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easiest recipe for yumminess! My dad is crazy about peanut butter/chocolate and I SO did not feel like baking; this was the perfect solution. A couple of tips from a girl who is usually a disaster in the kitchen: I melted the butter, which made for an easy and stirrable dough. I then cooled the dough in the fridge for an hour before rolling balls. I waited nearly 3 hours with the balls in the freezer before dipping them in chocolate. I did half with milk and half with dark, to please everyone. I also followed the advice of a rater who suggested the natural peanut butter and smart balance butter...would never know the difference. YUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We are from Ohio and have been making these for years! This is pretty similar to my grandmother's recipe. Don't skip the freezer part because these things melt fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
perfect recipe! everyone loves these when i make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Swelstad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Simple to make and sooooo good. This is a great recipe to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
LOVE these. Great recipe, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Dotson Byer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Our family found this to be the easiest and best flavored Buckeye recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Attica, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Blanchard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have a child who cannot eat eggs or milk, so I substituted the sunflower seed butter for peanut butter and used dark chocolate. It made it a million times better. I had to add almost another cup of peanut butter - it was too dry and tastless without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States