Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
made these with my mom they are yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeluvr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I love Buckeyes and this recipe is very easy. I read some of the reviews but decided to make as the recipe called for. Next time I will sift the sugar and decrease to 4 cups like some others suggested. I would like more of a peanut butter flavor and I do think the brand of peanut butter makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These were good, but we did have some difficulties with the chocolate melting...first, after reading other reviews, we only used about 5 1/2 c. sugar. Then, when we were melting the chocolate (due to limited equipment size), we had to melt it in batches, and the first batch melted thick, but it worked. The 2nd batch would NOT melt thin enough! IT was this big glob! I tried honey (to prevent seizing), I tried water, then half & half (to thin it out)...it got thin enough (and it still hardened on the peanut butter), but it also got grainy and ugly...how can I prevent it from being so thick another time? Why did my first batch work and not my 2nd?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
They melted as I finished dipping them in the chocolate! The chocolate never got firm and now I know why....no wax in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
A little trick I use is the double broiler method to melt the chocolate so it does not burn and stays hot and add a few flakes of bakers wax
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
we use a weight watchers scale and measure out the peanut butter at about 10 - 12 grams each as we roll them. also, for those having problems with it sticking to the hands, use a bit of powdered sugar on the hands/fingers. I have used white, chocolate, and butter scotch almond bark for dipping. a person could also put some coconut in the peanut butter mix for a change. We were wondering if anyone has tried to use SPLENDA instead of powdered sugar? for a sugar free variety? this is a very easy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is perfect. I would never deprive it of the 6 cups of powdered sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love this recipe, except I alter it to make it allergen free by using Sunflower Seed Butter in place of peanut butter, using dairy/soy free chocolate chips and using dairy/soy free butter. They are so delicious! People are always fooled, not even realizing they are nut free.... And then my kids get to enjoy a staple, holiday treat. They love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I used Skippy PB with honey in it. Very yummy. I found the recipe to be a bit dry when I cut it in half. My version had 1/2 more PB than the written one here, for a total of 2 cups PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love this recipe. Very simple and the buckeyes came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States