Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I loved this recipe. Although several of the reviews said the amount of sugar was too much. I found it just right. However, I creamed my room temperature butter and peanut butter together and then slowly added one cup at a time of powdered sugar. They turned out superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I liked the flavor of these, but I really had a very hard time getting the chocolate chips to melt. I had made Buckeyes last year at Christmas but couldn't find the recipe so I thought I'd try these. Not happy! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I had a nightmare with these, but it was not the recipes fault! I have never made anything like this before, and never dipped anything in chocolate. I melted mine in the crockpot because it seemed so easy...however, apparently if you get even 1 drop of water in melted chocolate it will "seize" and get really solid and change the texture of the chocolate. So that was my problem. I ended up making it work and even saved the recipe and they turned out pretty good considering the texture of the chocolate is a little funky. They have a great flavor and are super easy to make....just make sure you don't get any water in you melting chocolate! If you haven't done it before you might "google" it for some tips before you do it, what I should have done : ) Will make again and learn from my mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Easy and fun! Who doesn't like Buckeyes!?! Very easy and good!! I used milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used 2 cups of peanut butter. I also added 1 recipe of failed unset caramel candy goop to the mixture and they are fabulous! I had to play with the mixture to get it perfect but it rolled well and was not supper sticky as most people said. Use mini chocolate morsels as they melt much faster and smoother than the others. Keep the heat on low so it doesn't dry out or over cook the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've had these all my life while living in Ohio but after moving to N.C. I couldn't find anyone who knew what they were. I make this recipe every year for my family and friends here and they LOVE them....now to just keep myself from eating them all before the guests arrive ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My mom used to make these every Christmas, so this year I tried them. I'm really glad I read the other reviews because I cut the amount of powdered sugar to 4 cups, and I almost wish I had cut more. They turned out really good, but I think next time I will add more peanut butter and less regular butter. Just not enough peanut butter taste for me. Someone suggested to put powdered sugar on your palms when rolling the balls, that worked so well for them to stay smooth and not too sticky to handle, and I added a bit of crisco to my chocolate, that helped when dipping. Also make sure you don't make them too big (as I did) they will almost be too much, you want a one bite kind of size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is the best tasting buckeye recipe I've ever come across! My only challenges: prep time is much longer than 15 minutes! Even rolling the peanut butter mixture into larger balls, it still took a great deal of time--and I did not double the recipe. I used my Kitchenaid mixer without difficulty, and the peanut butter mix was easy to roll, even when not cold. The peanut butter mixture is so delicious, my kids want to eat it without the chocolate, so I stuck some in the freezer--they will eat them straight out of the freezer! These buckeyes don't stay as firm as most--I keep mine in the refrigerator if we don't eat them right away. But the peanut butter mix is so much more moist and creamy than some buckeyes I've had that are dry and crumbly. It melts in your mouth! Using the slow cooker for the chocolate really worked--but I added an extra cup of chocolate chips so I had plenty to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kinde, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I like to follow my grandmother's recipe, I believe it's much better. 2 cups chunky peanut butter (18 oz jar) 3 cups powdered sugar 1/4 lb. salted butter (1 stick) 3 cups Rice Krispies 1/4 of one stick of paraffin food wax 12 oz. bag of semi sweet chocolate chips. 1. Put Rice Krispies in a gallon zip lock bag and proceed to break them down about half way with a rolling pin. 2. Cream together peanut butter and butter in a mixer. Then add Rice Krispies and powdered sugar. Don't over mix! 3. Chill "dough" in freezer for about 30 min. or until consistency hardens and can form balls that hold their shape. 4. While your "dough" is chilling, melt chocolate chips and wax in a double broiler. 5. After dough is chilled enough, start forming little balls about an inch or a little bigger in diameter. Dip the balls in to melted chocolate and place on wax paper. (it may be easier to chill the dough, then form balls and chill them again for easier dipping.) Place balls in fridge after wards to chill. Then, WALLAH! You just crafted some mighty fine tasting balls that are so good, they'll make you want to do a little dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipes and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States