Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very good. Dipping things in chocolate is a very versatile technique for desert. I made these and also Rum Balls with dark chocolate. Both were very good. I used a 1" disher to make the balls and this made a 2-bite product. If you use a smaller disher, you can make a bite size product. I made 55 one-inch balls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Although I adjusted it a bit... I only used 4 cups powdered sugar and 2 cups peanut butter. I also let the peanut butter mixture chill in the fridge for 30 mins before rolling into balls. It's much easier to roll them this way. Overall this is a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Extremely easy to make and my family loved them! I had chocolate bark on hand so I used it instead of the chocolate chips. Must say - it was easier than the Oreo Balls I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I loved this recipe. Although several of the reviews said the amount of sugar was too much. I found it just right. However, I creamed my room temperature butter and peanut butter together and then slowly added one cup at a time of powdered sugar. They turned out superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I liked the flavor of these, but I really had a very hard time getting the chocolate chips to melt. I had made Buckeyes last year at Christmas but couldn't find the recipe so I thought I'd try these. Not happy! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I had a nightmare with these, but it was not the recipes fault! I have never made anything like this before, and never dipped anything in chocolate. I melted mine in the crockpot because it seemed so easy...however, apparently if you get even 1 drop of water in melted chocolate it will "seize" and get really solid and change the texture of the chocolate. So that was my problem. I ended up making it work and even saved the recipe and they turned out pretty good considering the texture of the chocolate is a little funky. They have a great flavor and are super easy to make....just make sure you don't get any water in you melting chocolate! If you haven't done it before you might "google" it for some tips before you do it, what I should have done : ) Will make again and learn from my mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Easy and fun! Who doesn't like Buckeyes!?! Very easy and good!! I used milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used 2 cups of peanut butter. I also added 1 recipe of failed unset caramel candy goop to the mixture and they are fabulous! I had to play with the mixture to get it perfect but it rolled well and was not supper sticky as most people said. Use mini chocolate morsels as they melt much faster and smoother than the others. Keep the heat on low so it doesn't dry out or over cook the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've had these all my life while living in Ohio but after moving to N.C. I couldn't find anyone who knew what they were. I make this recipe every year for my family and friends here and they LOVE them....now to just keep myself from eating them all before the guests arrive ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My mom used to make these every Christmas, so this year I tried them. I'm really glad I read the other reviews because I cut the amount of powdered sugar to 4 cups, and I almost wish I had cut more. They turned out really good, but I think next time I will add more peanut butter and less regular butter. Just not enough peanut butter taste for me. Someone suggested to put powdered sugar on your palms when rolling the balls, that worked so well for them to stay smooth and not too sticky to handle, and I added a bit of crisco to my chocolate, that helped when dipping. Also make sure you don't make them too big (as I did) they will almost be too much, you want a one bite kind of size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States