Buckeye Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I am the mother of 7 boys and the wife a an Ohio State Buckeye fan...buckeyes have been a favorite in our family ...i tried this recipe and must confess that it is WONDERFUL ! it is easy and the measurements are perfect. ( using the calculator for ALL RECIPES, i did alter the recipe to make 30 buckeyes) ...everything works together well and tastes even better. i highly recommend this to first time chocolate dippers and remember that when you are dipping, slightly tilt your rolled peanut butter ball to keep it on the toothpick. i have had so many compliments on the taste as well as their appearance...this is definetly a bookmarker on my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
The shortening added to the chocolate was to over powering. It made the chocalate taste terrible. Irecommend reducing the amount of shortening by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is one of those recipes we seem to only make for Christmas. My son said he loved these so I made them for a snack for an after school snack! I scaled the recipe back to 9 servings and easily got 18-20 1" sized balls. I also put them in the freezer for 5 minutes before coating. Used a melting candy chocolate to cover instead of using shortening and semi-sweet chocolate. To give a different twist I dipped some in a white chocolate candy coating on one side, stuck in the fridge for a few minutes, then covered the other side with the chocolate. Family LOVED the new twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was an awesome addition to my yearly Christmas cookie collection. All the reeses lovers couldn't get enought of these. Very easy to make.I do recommend keeping them small so you get just the right amout of chocolate with the peanut butter. Thanks for the fabulous recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
GREAT RECIPE!!! I found this recipe 4 years ago on this website and it is all the rave at all my parties and cookie exchanges! I always double the recipe because everyone loves them. Plus, they are so easy to make. I always use a toothpick when dipping the balls in the chocolate and them smooth the holes with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Excellent recipe. Very easy, very well explained and DELICIOUS! I loved that the chocolate covering used shortening instead of wax! I definitely give this recipe 5*****!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Yum! Perfect, extremely addictive, recipe! I made these into bars instead of the usual buckeye shapes by spreading the peanut butter dough into a pan and topping with the chocolate, and they came out really well, although the chocolate was too hard to cut easily. I think next time I make bars I will add more shortening and maybe some milk to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I absolutely love this recipe.My husband is from Ohio and has been eating Buckeyes for years, he tells me this is the best recipe yet. My friends and family cannot get enough and I cannot praise this recipe enough!!!! A MUST try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I used a little less sugar. These treats are always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
My husband has been looking for this treat for awhile. He was reallys suprised when I found it. He loves them and so did all the company I had that day. They sure don't last long. Everyone comes back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States