Buckeye Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is my mainstay recipe for Buckeye candies. One tip that worked well for me,chill the peanut butter mixture. I then rolled it into balls. After rolling into one inch balls,I kept them chilled. I have made this many times. I have used the butter instead of shortening for the chocolate because I hadn't shortening.:-) Also have used the wax for candies. No butter or shortening. It turned out well, allowing the chocolate to set up quickly on the chilled ball. It had a nice snap. Key is not too much wax or the chocolate is nasty. I live in a hot place its why I chilled the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Qko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
TASTEST THING IN MY LIFE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I am working on this recipe now and it is fun and easy at the same time. Working on melting chocolate now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Sargent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I am 54 and have done alot of baking for many years. This never did come together right. It was crumbly, and I even added more peanut butter out of frustration. I didn't want to waste it, so I sat for more than an hour and smashed each ball together to make the balls. WIll not ever do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I love the idea but way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe but may I suggest using parafin in place of the shortening if you don't like the taste of shortening. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I have made buckeyes for years and I am a dark chocolate fan so these are perfect. Instead of the shortening (which I didn't care for) I use a quarter chunk of paraffin wax. Melted it in the pan first, then the chocolate. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
"FANTASTIC!!" was the response from my hubby - an OSU fan, Ohio native and Reese's junkie. Now he gives me sad puppy eyes when he wants me to make more. The dough freezes extraordinarily well for a long time in a freezer ziplock which makes it easy to make a few at a time when he needs a buckeye fix. If you don't care about eye-appeal, but merely tastiness, you can fling the balls of dough into the melted chocolate and fish them out with two forks. Wonderful recipe, Sally. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Outstanding! Had several people ask for the recpe. "Batter" is crumbly, so it needs to be worked well with warm hands into the balls. Otherwise very easy and extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States