Buckeye Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I am working on this recipe now and it is fun and easy at the same time. Working on melting chocolate now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovabletreatsbakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I am 54 and have done alot of baking for many years. This never did come together right. It was crumbly, and I even added more peanut butter out of frustration. I didn't want to waste it, so I sat for more than an hour and smashed each ball together to make the balls. WIll not ever do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I love the idea but way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe but may I suggest using parafin in place of the shortening if you don't like the taste of shortening. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I have made buckeyes for years and I am a dark chocolate fan so these are perfect. Instead of the shortening (which I didn't care for) I use a quarter chunk of paraffin wax. Melted it in the pan first, then the chocolate. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
"FANTASTIC!!" was the response from my hubby - an OSU fan, Ohio native and Reese's junkie. Now he gives me sad puppy eyes when he wants me to make more. The dough freezes extraordinarily well for a long time in a freezer ziplock which makes it easy to make a few at a time when he needs a buckeye fix. If you don't care about eye-appeal, but merely tastiness, you can fling the balls of dough into the melted chocolate and fish them out with two forks. Wonderful recipe, Sally. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Outstanding! Had several people ask for the recpe. "Batter" is crumbly, so it needs to be worked well with warm hands into the balls. Otherwise very easy and extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe! We wanted something sweet one night and didn't want to go to the store or spend to much time in the kitchen (it's was movie night!) Made these in no time and they were a huge hit! My husband loves peanut-butter cups and devoured these! I will definitely make these again (more next time)! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Like others I cut the sugar down by half. I only made these about the size of marbles. I had to hide these from the Hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this because a family member is gluten free and I wanted to take a dessert to Thanksgiving dinner that everyone could enjoy. They were great, I received many compliments and was told that I am now to make this at every family get together! If you like peanut butter and chocolate, this is your recipe! I also loved the fact that they were simple to make and require no baking. Next time, I will double the recipe for the cookies, but not the chcolate. If you are making a single batch you may be able to halve the chocolate. Even with double dipping the cookies, I had quite a bit of chocolate left over. This is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIENZ76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States