Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe. Since I buy my confectioners sugar in large quantities I will note for others 1 lb confectioners sugar equals 3 and one half cups. I like to make this recipe using 3 and one quarter cups confectioners sugar. The mixmaster really expedites the binding of the ingredients. Also I used the chocolate candy making disks at craft and grocery stores, formed the one inch balls on wax paper on a cookie sheet and put the cookie sheet into my freezer for 30 minutes . I use a long wooden skewer (shishkabob type) or a toothpick for dipping the cold dough balls and they turned out very well. Very professional looking. With the disks they can also easily be made with semi sweet or white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I make these often. Have cut the receipe down because they make so many, I make the balls after I blend the mixture, Then I insert a sturdy toothpick into them and then I put them in the freezer for thirty minutes. This makes the toothpick strong so when you cover in chocolate the toothpick is firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Thanks to everyone who reviewed before me, they were a snap to put together, have great consistency and taste absolutely delicious! First of all, I don't know if anyone else has done this, but I used crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy. It was definitely great! (and I didn't have to add anything extra to get the crunch. :) And, thanks to previous reviewers, I creamed together the sugar & peanut butter before mixing in the room-temperature butter (not melted). After adding the butter and mixing around a couple times with my spoon, I put the spoon on the counter and mixed with my hands!! It creamed super fast and well! Then, I rolled the dough into balls and set on wax paper (I put the wax paper in a 16 X 20 pan) and put a toothpick in them before sticking them in the freezer for 15 minutes (which was plenty of time for them to harden). And I don't have a double boiler, so I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and just made sure I stirred every 30 seconds for the first minute and 1/2, and then every 15 seconds for the next 45 seconds (because they can burn very easily in the microwave). I did have to put the chocolate back in the microwave about 4 times because it kept getting hard. I dipped half the balls in semi-sweet, and half of them in semi-sweet/butterscotch mix. I like the semi-sweet/butterscotch mix, and my husband likes the semi-sweet. So, we're satisfied! I hope these tips help some people, because I think mine turned out just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I also used the Dark Chocolate Disks and found it much easier to do. I don't have a double boiler. I bought three bags and just microwaved them! When the chocolate started to cool and harden, I jsut remicrowaved it. Worked like a charm! Also, a tip for the crumbling. REALLY refrigerate them before you dip and right before you dip, give them a quick roll and squeeze in your hands. Out of the two batches I made, I had one break on me!!! Great recipe-my work finshed all two batches in 15 minutes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Great recipe! Very sweet and a great consistency. This was the first time I have ever made Buckeyes so I think I made a mistake adding the melted butter directly to the powdered sugar because I had little bits of pure sugar and butter. I will definitely use this recipe in the future! Since my first batch, I have found that if you cream together the peanut butter and powdered sugar before adding the butter it makes it easier to get the butter to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
OUT OF THIS WORLD!! I followed the tip of using 3 cups of powdered sugar. These were disappeared much faster than they should have! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Made these for the holidays and they were a real hit! Everyone who had some asked for more. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEARTH4KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Hi this recipe was so easy to make. Everyone loved it, too. My only problem was that they turned out a little dry in the middle. Then I heard that if you want them to be dry you need to use Reduced Fat Peanut Butter which is what I did. So keep that in mind when you are buying the PB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These came out very tasty, but I had trouble dipping them. They kept sliding off the toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was great, my kids really loved it. I did not have a double boiler so I made one with a very large pot and a smaller pot it worked very well with no problems. Have a Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States