Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I love making these they are super yummy and are a great treat to bring around work during the holiday season. This recipe makes A LOT though so be careful if you don't want these in your fridge for a month cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These are wonderful, i just made them last week and i'm getting ready to make them again, the only thing i changed is that i prefer milk chocolate chips over the semi sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Hill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I had no idea what shortening is (had to google it!), and can't find it in the stores in South Africa. Left it out and the Buckeye Balls still came out great - tastes just like Reese's Peanut Butter cups!! Can't wait for my mom to taste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These are yummy. There is a fine line between too much and too little powdered sugar in this one. With the full amount, my dough was a little crumby, so I added more pb. I got a little bored about halfway through dipping all of these, so I rolled the rest in chopped peanuts and sea salt. Both are delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
VERY good,VERY creamy, VERY easy, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a good recipe. I mainly made it cause I wanted a nice smooth filling to go between cookies which I was then going to dip in chocolate and of course the I did not want the sugar content to be too extreme. I made the leftover mixture into buckeyes though and I have to say, they are delicious, but I always make peanut butter & chocolate bars/cups and even a buckeye recipe recently which used graham crackers in the mixture. I think I must have missed that extra texture in these buckeyes. They tasted just fine though and I am sure it will be perfect between my choc. dipped cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These are honestly the best buckeye balls ever!! I made them for a class I'm in and they all LOVED LOVED LOVED them. A lot of them asked for the recipe.. When I was making it, it was too hard to actually dip only part of them in, so I just pretty much rolled it in the chocolate..so they were pretty much just peanut butter balls. These are extremely fattening and high in calories though..I think i'll try it next time without the butter and the shortening..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
these are very pretty and got rave reviews from all who ate them. As others did, i formed the balls right after mixing and put the toothpicks in and popped in the freezer for about 20 minutes. I love the Pioneer Womans method of melting chocolate. Simmer water in a sauce pan with a glass bowl on top. The chocolate melts quickly in the bowl without burning. Great for melting chips or candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I used to make these a long time ago, but I couldn't find my recipe. This recipe is perfect! I even make these as presents for people in my department and they absolutely love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are wonderful! I made them for christmas one year and now i'm not allowed to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States